PDA

View Full Version : --Smartskin and JointMorph problem--



mastro3d
09-08-2004, 05:57 AM
I have a Bone *thighbone* to which the Bone *shinbone* is parented.
To better check deformation on the groin I have realized 3 Smartskins:
1) frontal rotation of the thighbone;
2) back rotation of the thighbone;
3) side rotation of the thighbone.
Until here all is OK.
I now realize a Smartskin to control deformation of the knee and calf; This JointMorph is connected to the rotation of the Bone *shinbone*.
When rotating Bone *shinbone*, all is OK (figure 1).
When rotating Bone *shinbone* and Bone *thighbone*, I have a problem: the Morph works doesn't respect the Smartskin (figure 2).

Thanks,
Alessandro Melis_

mastro3d
09-08-2004, 06:37 AM
I have attached the scene file.

Greeting,
Alessandro Melis_

toonafish
09-08-2004, 10:42 AM
This is a problem I've been running into also. The jointmorph trick simply doesn't work with Lighwtave's morphs because the morphs happen before the bone deformation ( if I'm not mistaken ). When you have very simple geometry you hardy see the difference, but with more complex objects it's useless. The only way I know of to get jointmorphs working is with Polas' SmartMorph.

Chris S. (Fez)
09-08-2004, 01:37 PM
Did you buy Smartmorph? I was going to but the demo did not seem to work with AfterBones, which i think means it is not compatible with Zbrush displacements.

toonafish
09-08-2004, 02:41 PM
yep, I bought it. Not just for joint morphs but also because of the non linear morphs, the time-weightmap feature and the driven keys. If you work with morphs a lot, it's definately worth the investment.

Donno about the deno version, but in the latest update it's possible to choose for morphing after bone- or before bone deformation.

toonafish
09-08-2004, 02:43 PM
You might already know this, but for normal displacement you better use this one:
http://lynx.aspect-design.de/plugins/normal_displace_info.htm

Chris S. (Fez)
09-08-2004, 03:09 PM
Yep, it is hard to imagine working in Lightwave without it, but thank you anyway. So smartmorph does work with "afterbones". Nice. I might have to spring for smartmorph after all!

hrgiger
09-08-2004, 03:30 PM
Have you thought of just using a weight map or two instead of a morph?

Chris S. (Fez)
09-08-2004, 03:56 PM
I agree. For geometry that simple it seems like a weight map should work fine.

OFF
09-09-2004, 12:19 AM
smartskin : http://www.animationsnippets.com/plugins/index.html

mastro3d
09-09-2004, 03:33 AM
But the Smartskin plug is a JointMorphPlus in LightWave 8! no?

polas
09-15-2004, 01:16 AM
it works fine in smartMorph when 'before bones' is turned on.
Please check if you have the latest DEMO version.

mastro3d
09-15-2004, 06:16 AM
it works fine in smartMorph when 'before bones' is turned on.
Please check if you have the latest DEMO version.

Great plugin!
Can I install the same plugin "SmartMorph" on many LightWave 3D licences, or do I need to buy one for each LightWave 3D licence?
Thanks,
Alessandro Melis_

polas
09-15-2004, 06:08 PM
Great plugin!
Can I install the same plugin "SmartMorph" on many LightWave 3D licences, or do I need to buy one for each LightWave 3D licence?
Thanks,
Alessandro Melis_

The price is for single licence and it is attached to a machine dongle. For unlimited licence please contact me by email.

Pawel

mastro3d
09-28-2004, 08:59 AM
We have resolved! :D
Without any plugin! :p

Dino Mascitelli;
Alessandro Melis_

polas
09-28-2004, 06:09 PM
We have resolved! :D
Without any plugin! :p

Dino Mascitelli;
Alessandro Melis_

expressions?

mastro3d
09-29-2004, 02:42 AM
No expressions, no plugin. Only Lightwave 3D! Soon we will publish the solution.
www.mastro3d.it/education/CorrectiveMorphSolution.zip :eek:

Cheers,
Dino Mascitelli,
Alessandro Melis_

p.s.
For the solution, it's OK SmartMorph too. ;)

Exper
09-29-2004, 03:41 AM
We have resolved! :D
Without any plugin! :pGreat work guys! :cool:

toonafish
09-29-2004, 02:19 PM
Looks great guys ! Let me guess; you tweaked the points on the knee joint in modeler and checked the result on the bent knee in Layout via the HUB ??


Fish



No expressions, no plugin. Only Lightwave 3D! Soon we will publish the solution.
www.mastro3d.it/education/CorrectiveMorphSolution.zip :eek:

Cheers,
Dino Mascitelli,
Alessandro Melis_

p.s.
For the solution, it's OK SmartMorph too. ;)

mastro3d
09-30-2004, 01:32 AM
Looks great guys ! Let me guess; you tweaked the points on the knee joint in modeler and checked the result on the bent knee in Layout via the HUB ?? Fish
Soon we will publish the solution. LightWave 3D have a bug, but we are able to avoid it.

Dino Mascitelli,
Alessandro Melis_

DM67
09-30-2004, 02:40 AM
Hi Alessandro & Dino,
I can't wait to see the solution :rolleyes:
Outstanding work :cool:

Tony