PDA

View Full Version : Many Qs??

Hands
09-05-2004, 12:31 AM
hey all, im pretty new to lightwave and im learnning it alone. what im doing as a first step is that im reading the manual. i faced some questions so i hope i could find the answers here.
my first question is about round edges for squares, this is simmilar to fillets in Autocadİ. i need to draw a square for exampe with a rounded edges at a specific radius. how ? :)
secondly, im reading about the modifying panel in lightwave modeler and how different tools have different falloffs and i really didn't understand what is the difference between falloff mode. what does it mean if linear, radial, etc.
my next question is about UV & W maps, what do they mean and how are they used?
and finally, ive read something about Box modelling and Spline modelling, what are these and what are they used for, differences, etc.
thanx!
:)

Silkrooster
09-06-2004, 09:10 PM
Ok, to answer your first question. When creating a box you can press the lower case "n" key (without the quotes). This brings up a numeric panel on this panel there is a place to change the radius. This effects all sides of the box however. Should you want to create a radius on one side of the box you would need to use a plug in called rounder. This plugin is included with version 8. Otherwise check on flay.com to find the location on the net to purchase that plugin.