PDA

View Full Version : New to VertexPaint (**** it Jim,I'm a doctor, not a VP man)

hrgiger
09-02-2004, 03:51 PM
So,I've been using Lightwave for the last couple of years now but I've dismissed using vertex paint up until now and have been opting instead to paint my weight maps manually. I made a simple object today with a few skelegons and fired up Vertex paint and I have to say I think I like it.
I just have a few questions though.
First, and I don't expect a yes answer to this one but I don't suppose I can change the viewport controls? It's sort of "messiah" like meaning whenever I rotate the view, it does the opposite of what I think it should. No? I didn't think so.
Secondly, I Notice it paints with different preset values like 20%, 60%, etc....I'm assuming that it just weights it up to that amount and then the deformations rely then on the bone falloff? Also, if I have my brush set on 20%, will it go above that amount if I paint over the same area twice?

I would appreciate any advice or tips you could give me on using Vertex Paint to paint my skelegon weight maps. Thanks mucho.

Mattoo
09-02-2004, 07:11 PM
Not sure what you mean about the navigation control stuff being like Messiah... never used it. :confused:

As to your second question, you apply the weight values based on whether you have it set to add, replace, subtract etc.. So if you have it set to 20% and it's on "add", then everytime the brush is painted over a certain vertex it increases it by 20%.
However, it won't automatically normalise while you paint (like Maya), so it's easy to go over the 100% mark (which can cause unwanted results). To combat this I often find my self going to the pull down menu and hitting the "normalise" button. It should certainly be the last thing you do before leaving Vertex Paint.
This is all a bit hazey - it's been a while since I did any serious weighting, but that's what I remember of it. It was certainly more intuitive than the normal LW weighting.

Dodgy