PDA

View Full Version : liquid effect

yogee
08-30-2004, 03:30 AM
hai, i'm a newbie :D here... i really need some help :confused: ... i'm new to 3d and lightwave.... right now i need to create a 3d form of a liquid which need to be animated.. a metalic looking liquid.. and i need animate it to morph into an object.. is this possible :eek: .. can some1 help me with this... i don wanna create a ripple effect.. it should look like its moving very randomly... and how difficult is it to achieve this?? :cool:

yogee

riki
08-30-2004, 03:39 AM
Realflow looks good, and at a bargain basement price.

http://www.nextlimit.com/

MiniFireDragon
08-30-2004, 07:10 AM
umm... When did $1400 become bargain basement?

mattclary
08-30-2004, 09:10 AM
i'm new to 3d and lightwave....

Dude, you are soooooo starting with the wrong project.

nerdyguy227
08-30-2004, 01:00 PM
do you have any other 3d animation experiance, because if not you are looking for an extreamly long, detailed tutorial that you would pay for.

It is possable and realflow looks like a good investment.

If you want to do this without any money spent and you have little experiance, GOOD LUCK!!!

SplineGod
08-30-2004, 09:13 PM
This could be done using a combination of morphs and displacements.

Lightwolf
08-31-2004, 02:53 AM
Last time I had to create an effect like that, I used a combination of Hypervoxels, Morphs, Displacements, plenty of passes and compositing and it was still a pita ;)

Not for the faint at heart I'd say ;)

Cheers,
Mike

mattclary
08-31-2004, 05:46 AM
What, Mike!? You mean there's no "Create Terminator II Effect" button?! ;)

Lightwolf
08-31-2004, 06:02 AM
What, Mike!? You mean there's no "Create Terminator II Effect" button?! ;)
Nope, and last time I did it I spent half a day telling my client _why_ this is still a hard thing to do years after Terminator II - which, incidentally, is exactly what my customer wanted (for a hole puncher !). :cool: