PDA

View Full Version : switching



jday
08-28-2004, 08:08 PM
I just opened up a capture box and simulated a service here at the church. I have two cameras, DDR, 3 vision monitors open and started capturing as though it was a live service.

I have set the capture options input to program out. With this I noticed that stopping the DDR causes capturing to stop. Is there anything wrong with setting this up?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
John Day
Faith Alive Ministries

Jim_C
08-28-2004, 08:24 PM
Hey John... :D

Are you opening the capture panel with the DDR module itself or using the drop down main menu?


Jim


and yea, using multiple firewire cameras switched with the Toaster has been labeled as a no go by Newtek reps themselves. I believe it is a way Windows handles the stream more than the Toaster, not real sure the reason. It was just a post a couple days ago.

jday
08-29-2004, 08:33 AM
Jim,

Thanks again for the quick reply. I opened the capture dialog box from the main menu.

I am not sure why the DDR stopped the capture.

Thanks,
John Day
Faith Alive Ministries :o

Jim_C
08-29-2004, 08:40 AM
What was your video drive setup again?
What does auto config give you in speed for it.

Or you can get a small disk speed test from the Yahoo Toaster groups here
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/VTNT/files/

jday
08-30-2004, 03:38 PM
Jim,

I went to the website and in the files folder of yahoo there were no files. I signed up for a yahoo account. Can you help me with that. Then I can give you that information.

Thanks,
John Day
Faith Alive Ministries

jday
08-31-2004, 09:21 AM
Jim,

The hard drives are 4 seagate cheetah drives at 10,000 rpms. They are stripped in windows 2000.

Would a hardware RAID card work better instead of stripping in windows 2000?

Jim_C
08-31-2004, 10:26 AM
Dro p this on your drive and dbl click .Will give speed

jday
09-01-2004, 10:44 AM
Jim,

Here are the results from the disktest.

Thanks


A Utility to determine whether your drive can sustain video across the entire
rface.
WARNING : Do not perform any other tasks on your machine while this applicatio
is running.
Available Free Space : 53776965632 bytes (=51285Mb)
= 2593 seconds of Uncompresssed NTSC video
Total Disk Space : 293607567360 bytes (=280005Mb)
= 14159 seconds of Uncompresssed NTSC video


Testing Writing Speed (Recording Video To Disk) ...
Second #1 : 0.26s to write, 76.16 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #2 : 0.23s to write, 85.55 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #3 : 0.23s to write, 86.57 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #4 : 0.24s to write, 82.90 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #5 : 0.24s to write, 83.37 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #6 : 0.23s to write, 84.84 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #7 : 0.23s to write, 85.10 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #8 : 0.24s to write, 83.75 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #9 : 0.23s to write, 85.37 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #10 : 0.23s to write, 85.77 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #11 : 0.24s to write, 83.48 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #12 : 0.24s to write, 83.47 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #13 : 0.24s to write, 83.29 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #14 : 0.24s to write, 83.94 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #15 : 0.24s to write, 83.24 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #16 : 0.23s to write, 86.28 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #17 : 0.24s to write, 83.14 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #18 : 0.23s to write, 85.90 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #19 : 0.23s to write, 85.79 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #20 : 0.24s to write, 82.20 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #21 : 0.24s to write, 83.26 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #22 : 0.23s to write, 84.95 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #23 : 0.23s to write, 85.70 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
Second #24 : 0.23s to write, 84.80 Mb/s, ### Passed ###
^C
V:\>

Jim_C
09-01-2004, 02:20 PM
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm,
Seagate Cheetahs should be in the 120's unless you are running from a 33bit scsi bus on the motherboard. That is about the right speed for a 33.
What is your motherboard and scsi adapter?

Jim