PDA

View Full Version : Adjusting AA and ANSIO help



brandon
04-02-2003, 04:03 PM
Is there an option for setting what, if any, AA and ANSIO levels for rendering?

Rich
04-02-2003, 05:02 PM
If you are talking about antialiasing then you need to go into the Camera Item Properties and you can adjust AA from there. As far as ANSIO help. I have no clue what ANSIO is so I can't help you there.

brandon
04-02-2003, 05:18 PM
Thanks :)

opps.. misspeled in first post

ANISO is Anisotropic Filtering

Lightwolf
04-03-2003, 02:11 AM
Hi Brandon,

unfortunately, there is no anisotropic texture filtering in LW.

Cheers,
Mike

Aegis
04-03-2003, 07:28 AM
Pardon my ignorance, but why would you need anistropic filtering in 3D rendering software such as LightWave?

I was under the impression that anistropic filtering was only used in realtime 3D software/hardware...

Lightwolf
04-03-2003, 07:33 AM
Originally posted by Aegis
Pardon my ignorance, but why would you need anistropic filtering in 3D rendering software such as LightWave?

I was under the impression that anistropic filtering was only used in realtime 3D software/hardware...
Nope, it is also needed in 3D software renderers, for the same reason. I'm actually researching texture filtering right now, and it is a hard thing to do right. Most packages don't filter textures properly :(

Oh, if you're into techie details:
http://www.cs.cmu.edu/~ph/texsurv.pdf
is a good start.

Cheers,
Mike