PDA

View Full Version : More Batch Capture Wierdness



tmon
08-26-2004, 01:23 PM
After cueing to the in-point, BC is now rewinding the tape from my BVW75 source deck EIGHT minutes for pre-rolling.

What's up with that?!?!?

:eek:

SCS
08-26-2004, 07:19 PM
Seen it, been there, suffered... :D
Are you trying to perform an Assemble edit, if so stripe the tape and do Inserts instead...

bradl
08-26-2004, 09:22 PM
Taiji- Eight minutes is too long of a preroll, try setting it to 4 or 5 seconds!!!

;)

Actually, I use BC quite often with BVW's and don't think I've seen this one. I do use stripped tapes. Sounds like it could be a VITC mismatch maybe?

I've had mine occasionally decide to shuttle to the next event at about 2X speed. Once I had a really screwed up Machine definition, I deleted it and did a new one and it was fine.

tmon
08-27-2004, 05:31 PM
I AM trying to do an insert edit!

Something has gone haywire. Tried different timecode numbers too...

Can't print to tape anymore either. Maybe it's a related problem.

Ran Autoconfig, no luck.

Not a good week with the VT[3] software...

ugh, an uninstall/reinstall calle for?

SCS
08-27-2004, 06:40 PM
Ok... time to ask the obvious...

1) Since you striped the tape, have you reset the tc generator to 'regen'?

2) As suggested above, are your LTC and VITC codes the same?

3) Tried making a new deck control definition from the templates?

4) Striped NDF and are printing to tape in DF?

5) Tried doing a front panel edit - just to see if the deck responds?

6) Is there a time code break/discontinuity at or near your edit point?

7) Tried changing the 2/4 field edit switch setting?

8) Tried changing the deck's reader from LTC to VITC or vice-versa?

9) Is your edit point 0:00:00;00 - can cause crazy prerolls on some gear

bradl
08-28-2004, 12:23 AM
Excellent list SCS!!!

One other suggestion: If possible Taiji, run shorter cable and/or try a different VCR.

Sometimes with a new stripped tape I have lots of problems and just have to get another one.

tmon
08-30-2004, 01:21 PM
SCS, excellent list! Very helpful. Indeed, it may have been the "REGEN vs. PRESET" switch, in addition to not having the deck control definition set to the SAME preroll as the deck's preroll setting itself.

TO SCS's list I would add item #10:

*******************************

1) Since you striped the tape, have you reset the tc generator to 'regen'?

2) As suggested above, are your LTC and VITC codes the same?

3) Tried making a new deck control definition from the templates?

4) Striped NDF and are printing to tape in DF?

5) Tried doing a front panel edit - just to see if the deck responds?

6) Is there a time code break/discontinuity at or near your edit point?

7) Tried changing the 2/4 field edit switch setting?

8) Tried changing the deck's reader from LTC to VITC or vice-versa?

9) Is your edit point 0:00:00;00 - can cause crazy prerolls on some gear

10) Check to see that the preroll setting for your deck control configuration is set to the same preroll setting you've set in your hardware deck menu (e.g. if it's set to five seconds on you BVW75, set it to a 5 second preroll when setting the VT[3] deck control configuration).

**************************************************

BTW, we are a NDF house, and BC and print to tape do work with NDF striped tapes. We just can't expect TC accuracy beyond a frame or two, because of the TC differences...but that's a Features request issue.

Thanks for the help, folks! :D

tmon
09-14-2004, 03:16 PM
Same source deck, new day, new project. BC problems return. This time, the tape cues up to the in point, and starts shuttling forward to who knows where, rather than rewinding for pre-roll.

I've gone through the new "checklist." This MIGHT be a DF/NDF issue. The tape is NDF. While I haven't had too much problems with NDF source tapes before (give or take a frame), apparently, perhaps, I'm having one because of it today.

Hmmm, VT[4] NDF capabilties as a Features Request, anyone? Again?

:(

tmon
09-14-2004, 03:33 PM
I tried powering the deck down and then back again while the VT[3] software was still active. I have regained some BC capabilities, but I seem to be back to that huge preroll thing again. Pre-roll is "only" FOUR minutes this time. At least there's progress. My producer is getting really cranky!

Is there a method to this madness, NewTek?

James Moore
09-15-2004, 11:15 AM
Have you tried resetting your configs? Start/VT3/Utilitlites/reset configs

tmon
10-02-2004, 11:12 PM
Have you tried resetting your configs? Start/VT3/Utilitlites/reset configs

James,

That seemed to do the trick, in addition to powering the source deck on/off again!

tmon
11-03-2004, 07:38 PM
Have there been improvements to BC and deck control in VT[4]?

Why VT loses control of RS422 decks when it was working previously has been a rather disheartening inconvenience, to say the least.

There, that's an edit job.

:cool: