PDA

View Full Version : Butterfly or Amleto?

pixym
08-24-2004, 06:59 AM
Hi All,

Wich is the best for some dual processors 2Gb ram rendering server management?

I use to render with 8 thread in LW.

Please give me your testimonials if you have already tryed them both.

Thank in advance.

trick
08-24-2004, 07:50 AM
I never tried them, but I'm really satisfied with TequilaScream (http://www.digitaltoons.tv)...don't fix it when it ain't broke:)

pixym
08-24-2004, 07:52 AM
Thank Trick

Johnnyx
08-27-2004, 08:27 AM
I have used both on a small network (single processor machines)... Amleto was fine, but I found Butterfly to be more flexible - for instance rendering and saving RPF pixel filters (depth files) as far as I know Amleto doesn't support this feature.. I have been running with Butterfly now for over 5 months.. with no problems - great software.

pixym
08-27-2004, 08:29 AM
Thanks a lot Johnnyx

Panikos
08-27-2004, 11:04 PM
I've been using BNR since 0.9.
Development and Support was non-stop, and progress was unpretictable.
I could never guess the new features. Literally BNR covers so many aspects and needs of SN rendering.
:rolleyes:

mindseye
08-28-2004, 10:31 AM
I've been using Almeto for a bit now. I love it. It sets itself up (no kidding)
super easy install. It does a great job of splitting a single image for rendering on multiple computers. Give it a whirl.

Happy rendering!
curtis

pixym
08-28-2004, 10:33 AM
Thanks all

thomey
08-29-2004, 01:11 AM
Is the support of RPF (or RLA) unique to Butterfly or is it supported by others as well?

Thorsten

Johnnyx
08-30-2004, 03:11 AM
..RLA is supported by most Network software, as the format is included in LW as an image "saver" - for instance if you "F9" to render an image, you can then save that image as an .RLA from the drop down save menu. You can't save RPF files like this - RPF has to be added as an Image Filter in the "Effects" dialogue box, by-passing if you like the "save" options.