PDA

View Full Version : Screamernet and Airport



noiseboy
04-02-2003, 10:46 AM
Is there anything to stop me from using a Laptop on a wireless Airport connection as a render node, has anyone tries this with any success.

wapangy
04-02-2003, 11:27 AM
It will work fine over AirPort.

:)

noiseboy
04-03-2003, 12:02 AM
I normally run my network using the Airport as a DHCP server, will I need to change to using fixed IP address's?. Both machines can see each other, I can use LWSN on the Host machine but SN is not seeing the Node machine.

wapangy
04-03-2003, 07:20 AM
You are going to have to connect the computers using file sharing, a good tutorial is here http://homepage.mac.com/nonplanar/

noiseboy
04-03-2003, 07:27 AM
The interesting thing is that I tried to run the same kind of network in my office but without the wireless bit(dchp server and appletalk) and I can see both nodes on the host machine no problem, its only the Airport bit that seems to be getting in the way...

wapangy
04-03-2003, 07:35 AM
Yeah, try turning off "distribute IP addresses" on the airport, I don't know exactly how you have your whole setup, but that may work.