PDA

View Full Version : reflection not glowing



hydrowire
08-20-2004, 11:21 PM
how to make reflected polygon glow too?

Triple G
08-21-2004, 01:03 AM
Glows don't normally show up in reflections, since they're added after the fact and aren't evaluated during the raytracing process. However, you can come close by faking it with the Corona image filter.

I just made a test, and it's not totally accurate, but with a little more testing, I'm sure you could get pretty close. The settings I used in the Corona panel were:

Input Channel: Reflectivity
Input Threshold: 34.5% (you'll need to tweak, depending on your reflective surface's attributes)
Threshold Mask: Color
Effect: Normal (default)
Falloff: Smooth (default)
Strength: 200%
Size: 25

Everything else was left at the default settings. The result I got is shown below. Like I said, with a bit more tweaking, you should be able to get something that comes pretty close to what you're looking for. Good luck. :)

*edited for a typo*

EmperorPete
08-21-2004, 06:51 PM
I heard you can get glow effects to reflect by using a plugin called Hyperglow, but I don't know anything about it; anyone able to shed any light (no pun intended) on this?