PDA

View Full Version : Toaster Pref Setting for processor speed



stoolpigeon
04-01-2003, 11:08 AM
I'm running the DUAL XEON 2.0 Supermicro board.

Should my CPU speed in Toaster Prefs be 4.0 or 2.0?

Seems like I read that dual processors allows this setting to be at 4.0, but not sure.

Thanks,
Chad

RomainR
04-01-2003, 01:29 PM
I set mine to 3.8. I have a dual 2.2.

mrjaialai
04-01-2003, 01:39 PM
You should set it to 90 percent of total computing power. So if you have dual processors you should set it to 3.6. But you can play around with it a little bit.

johnnylandrover
04-01-2003, 02:33 PM
I have Dual zeon 2.0's and it's set at 2.0, By VideoHardware who knows the toaster better than most.

ScorpioProd
04-01-2003, 03:56 PM
Well, my single P4 1.7GHz ran fine at a CPU setting of 2.0...

I'm now implementing my new dual-Xeon 2.8GHz machine. I'm gonna set it based on the "subtract .2 and multiply by 2".

So, I'll set mine for 5.2.

johnnylandrover
04-01-2003, 04:58 PM
Eugene,

Where did you hear about the -.2 then x2 the processor? I set mine to 3.6 & it chugged along slowly, set it back to 2.0 and it fly's. Am I doing something wrong?

Johnny

Kurt_Henning
04-01-2003, 07:45 PM
Yep, and I set mine to 4.2, which is an arbitrary setting. At home I ahve a p4 1.7 and crank it to 3.1, also an arbitrary number.

You see, the higher the number, the faster the envelope is pushed. However, Icarus did burn in flames.

It is better to burn out than to fade away, wouldn't you say?

But seriously, what about drive speed settings. I get 85 mbs at home and set my DDR and TED to 70 mbs so I get about three streams.

Also, do you guys crank the other settings? I do.

Louder is better.

Oh and if you were refering to THIS amp, it goes to 11.

Rock on Nigel

PIZAZZ
04-01-2003, 07:52 PM
We usually set our Dual Xeons to this:

Proc Speed x 2 - .2
or
2.4x2=4.8 - .2 = 4.6 in Ted and DDR settings

I forgot to ask Andrew at the last dealer training the "real" science behind the number. I will remember to ask next week at NAB.

PIZAZZ
04-01-2003, 07:55 PM
Oh Johnie,

That processor speed setting versus perforance can also depend on the drive throughput you get also. We always install SCSI drives in our systems. If you have an IDE based system then your settings could be different.

The 2.0 setting is the basic setting the Autoconfigure comes up with 9 out of 10 times. To make sure of your settings then I would call Blaine and ask him what to put it at.

Variables LOTS and LOTS of variables....

stoolpigeon
04-01-2003, 08:46 PM
Yeah, I have heard about the -.2 setting. We are running the unlimited bandwidth PCI-X 64bit and 66mhz on an Escalade controller and (5) 60gig maxtor IDE 7200 rpm drives and it runs great.

So, what's the verdict? Up it to (3.6) or keep it at (2.0) or (1.8)? :-)

To err is human.....to really screw things up, you need a computer.

BTW, has anyone seen my model of stonehenge? hahahahaha

Thanks,
Chad

ScorpioProd
04-01-2003, 08:47 PM
I've NEVER seen autoconfig come up with anything but 2.0, so I really don't think it's doing a real test.

I don't remember where I read the "subtract .2 then multiply by number of processors", but it was on a Toaster website somewhere...

But yes, a rigid rule would be cool.

For my P4DC6+, the PCI bandwidth should be 64-bit, unlimited. Note, this is for my Cheetahs on the on-board 64-bit SCSI.

The DDR and TEd cache should be 100MB/s.

PIZAZZ
04-01-2003, 09:42 PM
Funny, we set our DDRs to No Limit and don't see any problems that I know of.

Just to be sure. Our setups are:
P4DC6+
Dual 2.4ghz Xeons
6 Scsi Cheetahs on two separate onboard busses
IDE host drive
SCSI FX drive on the A bus
and a blue cathode light (this is very important for a high performance machine)

ScorpioProd
04-01-2003, 10:38 PM
I only have four Cheetahs on one bus, so I don't go too crazy with the limit. :)