PDA

View Full Version : solid or surface models??

seolfunk
08-09-2004, 10:38 PM
Hi all... I'm new to both LW and this forum, both seem great, but I've encountered some frustrating issues with importing solid models from form-Z.

Is there a way to surface just one polygon of a solid? For example, if there's a wall that's concrete on the exterior and drywall on the interior -- can I somehow pick and surface just the interior polygon or do I need to create a new, slightly offset surface polygon for the interior wall?

All of my cgi experience has come from making solid models of architecture in form-Z so LW is very foreign to me. What is the conventional wisdom on solids vs. surfaces? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

-Dan

Mylenium
08-10-2004, 12:13 AM
Well, reading the manual can help a lot... but anyway, here goes:

a) Select the polygons you want to surface.

b) Hit "q".

c) Type in a new name in the window that comes up.

You're set. Your new surface name will appear in the surface editor and from there you can adjust its parameters.