PDA

View Full Version : Chapter Markers In Vt Edit

TRCC
08-05-2004, 02:03 PM
Is there a way to render a project from VTedit with DVD chapter markers? With what program would be best to make DVD's?

ScorpioProd
08-05-2004, 09:19 PM
As far as I know not as a rendered clip, BUT if you are using the AVI Wrapper, then project markers will appear as chapter points in SOME DVD authoring programs.

I don't know which programs though, all I do know is that my authoring program, DVD Workshop does not support this very useful feature. :(

mgrusin
08-05-2004, 10:03 PM
I know that DVD-Lab (maybe others?) is able to import chapters from a text file with the simple format:

hh:mm:ss:fff
hh:mm:ss:fff...

(where fff is the fractional second). Maybe a script could be written to output such a text file?

-MG.

TRCC
08-06-2004, 11:47 AM
im pretty new to VT how do i use the avi wrapper? Ive heard the term many times but am not quite sure how or what it is.

Jim_C
08-06-2004, 12:11 PM
When you save a project from save as under File menu, choose .AVI.
It saves the file with an avi extension which is useable in most programs that accept avi's.

It is not actually a full avi file.It will be rather small. It is just referencing your footage or wrapping the project or something, but the important thing is to not move or delete any source footage that makes up the project or the avi wrapper is useless.

Different from rendering the whole project to a full big avi file.

Hope that helped

Jim

TRCC
08-06-2004, 12:12 PM
is it full quality? or is there loss?

thanks for the imput

ScorpioProd
08-06-2004, 01:45 PM
Full quality.

pnelson
08-07-2004, 02:15 PM
Eugene,

Does the Markers to Chapters trick work with DVD Workshop?

See Ya,

ScorpioProd
08-07-2004, 02:48 PM
Unfortunately, nope. Unless there's some magic I don't know about.

Bobt
08-08-2004, 10:14 AM
Can someone send me an example of this?

hh:mm:ss:fff...

I can certainly qrite code to export markers to do this.