PDA

View Full Version : freelance rates

smcstravick
08-03-2004, 04:29 AM
hi all,

i know this type of question pops up a lot from time to time, so sorry in advance!

i'm getting some freelance work in the near future. although i have over 6 years in the industry, i'm pretty new to working freelance.

the work in question is going to be something along the lines of a short intro to a website (maybe 1 minute) done in lightwave rendered out in swift3D. its going to be the usual intro kind of thing, with lots of cool effects and probably quite a bit of character animation as well. so its mostly lightwave with a little actionscript thrown in, and some sound editing.

i've got a fair idea of the time its going to take. so should i just be multipling that figure with an hourly rate, then doubling it?

what does everyone think is a fair hourly rate for this kind of job? i'm based in scotland if that helps.

also, if anyone has any tips or suggestions to give me that i should be taking into consideration before taking on a job like this. i would really appreciate it!!

the other thing i am unsure about is the legal side of it. when it comes to drawing up a contract. does anyone know if there are documents out there that i can download and customise to suit my project? the company i am doing the work for has got me to sign an nda, so i guess i should really be covering my side as much as possible as well.

when it comes to getting paid. i've read before that most people ask for half up front, then half on completion. is this generally regarded as the best way to go?

thanks for any help.

steven.

badllarma
08-03-2004, 09:47 AM
Hi Steve yup it does gets asked a hell of a lot and no the answers are always not really that useful.
So here are a few facts to base your rate around BTW this must be some sort of web site because this sounds is the top end of creating any sort of 3D animation for a web site.

some useful facts:-