PDA

View Full Version : Screamernet tutorials



BeeVee
08-03-2004, 05:01 AM
Hi all,

Here's a thread dedicated to all those tutorials out there that teach people how to configure Screamernet. If I've missed any, please reply to this post with new links and I'll edit...

PC:
Matt Gorner's world-renowned PDF tutorial:
http://www.newtek-europe.com/uk/community/lightwave/gorner/3.html (bottom of the page)

Matt's video tutorial:
http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=24065

Fabio's:
http://www.firedragon.com/~fabio/screamer/screamer.htm

Ours:
http://www.newtek-europe.com/uk/support/download.html

Kevin Phillips':
http://forums.newtek.com/discus/messages/2/13419.html

Mac:
Worms of Art:
http://www.the-worms-of-art.com/tutorials/lightwavetutes_221.html#

Mike Scaramozzino's:
http://dreamlight.com/insights/10/welcome.html

Non-planar's:
http://homepage.mac.com/nonplanar/ (click on the Scream! link)

Ours:
http://www.newtek-europe.com/uk/support/download.html


For Linux?
In my opinion, it's not worth using the Linux Screamernet. It will only work with the small number of plug-in that exist in the package. I think it's better to set up WINE and use the Windows render node under Linux. That way you have access to all the plug-ins that exist for Windows. In addition, I have received reports that it still doesn't lose the speed advantage given by the low overhead of Linux. I'm not sure how that can be the case since it is running Windows under emulation, but there you go...

Third party controllers
Amleto: (Win)
http://www.nodalideas.com/amleto/index.html

ButterflyNetRender: (Win)
http://www.butterflynetrender.com/

Mule: (win)


LightNet: (Win)
[url]http://www.joejustice.org/lightwave/lightnet/

Renderfarm Commander: (Mac OSX)
http://www.brucerayne.com

ScreamerNet Controller: (Mac OSX)
http://www.catalystproductions.cc/screamernet/

Spider: (Win)
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/SXSpider/

TequilaScream: (Win)
http://www.digitaltoons.tv/shop/

Misc
A really good optimiser for rendering, whether through a single machine, or in preparation for distributed rendering, is Kevin Phillips' LCSM (Lean Clean Scene Machine), available for PC and Mac from the NewTek Europe website in our interview with him:
http://www.newtek-europe.com/uk/community/lightwave/phillips/1.html


Phew, think that's all. Let me know if I've missed any! :)

B

kevman3d
09-10-2004, 02:21 AM
I did a really simple no-frills guide to setting up a small renderfarm on NewTek's old forum system. I still use this one - Its quick, simple and easy for most non-techies to follow...

http://forums.newtek.com/discus/messages/2/13419.html?

BeeVee
09-10-2004, 02:43 AM
Added to the list! :)

B
PS. It was really good to meet you at Siggraph (even if it was for a short time) - how did that lady go away? Was she impressed?

kevman3d
09-10-2004, 03:15 AM
Cool! Yeh, was a good 30 second 'Hello', eh! :)

I've sent you an email response to the second half of your question, since I figured wouldn't block up the forum here with chit-chat! :D

PS. I just noted - there's TWO L's in Phillips - They also mispelt that in the 8 Reference Manual as well I noticed! :rolleyes:

BaseZero
11-03-2004, 11:20 AM
BeeVee,

Check out "Renderfarm Commander" for Mac OSX at http://www.brucerayne.com

BZ

CROUTON213
02-01-2005, 07:49 PM
Hi, I have successfully used Matt Gorner's world-renowned PDF tutorial to setup Screameret II for Lightwave 8.2, using 20 nodes, and it is working very well, including usage with image maps, sequential image maps, and plug-ins. Thanks for the excellent tutorial.
-qb

stib
05-19-2005, 07:06 PM
I'm not sure how that can be the case since it is running Windows under emulation, but there you go...

According to the Winehq page:

..as the name says, Wine Is Not a (CPU) Emulator. Wine just provides the Windows API. This means that you will need an x86-compatible processor to run an x86 Windows application, for instance from Intel or AMD. The advantage is that, unlike solutions that rely on CPU emulation, Wine runs applications at full speed. Sometimes a program run under Wine will be slower than when run on a copy of Microsoft Windows, but this is more due to the fact that Microsoft has heavily optimized parts of their code, whereas mostly Wine is not well optimized (yet). Occasionally, an app may run faster under Wine than on Windows. Most apps run at roughly the same speed.

So there y'go. I'm currently building a dual boot linux / windows render farm.. wel render garden, I'll do some tests with LWSN under linux, windows and wine and post the results, just as soon as I can get the **&@%^#$ LWSN network going. <tears more hair out>

Hey does anyone know of any Linux LWSN documentation apart from the 7.5c release readme (http://www.newtek.com/products/lightwave/downloads/updates/support/lw75c_ReadMe.html)?
I can't even find the executable file once I installed it, let alone set up all the configs. I've set up a cross platform network using OSX and windows machines before but the current install OSX and Linux is doing my head in.

mendiburu
05-24-2005, 07:35 PM
Hello,

I'm trying to setup a linux/windows renderfarm too.
Shall we share our experience ?

So far, I've been able to setup a windows render farm with 20+ nodes.
I'm using Lightnet (joe justice) as controler, on a Win2K server hosting the scenes, renders and applications files

I've installed linux as dual boot on my workstation.
I've setup samba, and mounted the network drives
I've installed the 7.5d RPM, and it runs fine, but...

1 - Lightnet does not sees it.
2 - The embeded LW Screamer controler sees it, and then freezes.

I'll be happy to have some help past that point.
Thanks
/bernard/

stib
05-25-2005, 01:11 AM
Silly me. I thought that between OSX and linux all I'd have to do was plug the ethernet cable in and get to work. HA! To get the Apple box to see the linux box I've spent about three days crawling round the basement of my linux install trying to plug the right wires into the right sockets.

I am so over linux. It was a good idea at the time when I was selling it to the suits: "Linux is so cool, it's really stable and there's lots of support and it's secure and best of all it's free!" forgot to mention that to do something like share a volume on the network you have to learn how to edit .conf files with a terminal based text editor, and manually start all the daemons (what planet are those linux geeks on "daemons"?! purleese) and the file servers and punch a hole in the firewall to let the connection get through.

But now I can mount the volume on my mac desktop using flaky flaky afp. NFS? that would be nice but no can do. Even SMB doesn't want to work.

So after learning more about linux networking than I really ever wanted to know I go to run the LWSN node.

error while loading shared libraries: lwtools.8.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Ok that's why everyone doesn't use linux right there. It's a great operating system, but it doesn't work. Nothing ever just.. works. You ALWAYS end up reconfiguring some obscure config file using some instructions written in Old Icelandic with a text editor that came from the days when computers had valves.

I'm giving up. I've ordered a copy of windoze for all my render nodes, the cost doesn't come close to the cost of me messing around with this confounded geekery for days on end. I feel defeated, and bad about myself for having to share the same room as a bunch of windows boxxen, but there you go. At least I'll know how to set up the network.

mendiburu
05-25-2005, 12:16 PM
Hi,
I understand you pain, for I've been in the same sheeeeet
You can see OSes like swimming techniques.
Win is like a LifeRing. Everibodycan float with that, but you can't move fast. and yes, there's a rope holding you to the MS-boat.
MacOs is a surf board. It's cute, elegant, fast. But you never have a chance to see what's under the see.

And linux is real swiming. not floating device is helping you.
On the other hand, that's th real way to deal with OS : obscursive text files telling in pseudo-laguage what to do. Everything else is visual illusion, or floating devices.

Pretending Linux is dummies-ready is non-sense. It's throwing in the water people who does not know how to swim. 5% will learn, 95% will suit you if they survive.

BTW, the answer to your question, if you still want to swim like a grown-up sysadmin is there (from rehat knowledge base)

Issue:
I have an application (Trendmicro), that refuses to run on Red Hat Enterprise Linux. It produces following error in logs: 'symbol errno, version GLIBC_2.0 not defined in file libc.so.6 with link time reference' which should be fixed with 'export LD_ASSUME_KERNEL=2.4.1', which in turn I put into /etc/profile. How can I fix that on my system?

Resolution:
This error is due to the third party application not conforming to standard library call practices. You may be able to work around this by using export LD_ASSUME_KERNEL=2.2.5; this is however simply a workaround, and the proper solution is for the third party application to be rewritten to conform to standard library call practices.

I did add it ro my .bashrc and it's fine.
I think the best is to add it in the .lwsnrc file.

Now, you can go to the next bug i was mentioning in the previous post...

Maybe we should open a "linux install" thread.

/bernard/

stib
05-26-2005, 07:34 AM
You see I don't want to learn to swim. I want a boat to get to the other side of the river where I can get some work done.

If I wanted to be a sysadmin I'd have gone to sysadmin school and bought a pocket protector, some horn-rimmed specs and a lab coat. I'm an animator, that's how I make money to pay the bills and feed the kids. Learning what the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file does appeals to my inner l337 h4xx0r, but it's not part of my job description. Time is money. If I were to add the time I've spent tinkering with these linux boxes to the bill at the rate I charge my clients I could have bought a rack full of G5s.

Anyway thanks for the help, I'll give it a go, just because I'm grimly determined to get this mongrel to work.

Bobt
07-10-2005, 10:06 AM
What happens to PC plugins like FPrime when using Linux as Render nodes?
Does it still work? I have heard you need a Windows PC to these plugins with a render node. True?
Bob :rolleyes:

stib
07-11-2005, 07:23 PM
PC (or Mac) plugins won't work with linux render nodes. Which Is why I gave up on my linux render farm. It wasn't worth the effort, because I do very few scenes without plugins o some sort.

It's a pity, a linux version of LW would rock like a wobbly thing.

Luv2Anim8
05-09-2006, 10:59 PM
Lets not forget MULE, he's been my network rendering solution for over a year now. They also announced at their NAB booth, that 2.0 is coming out in Aug... theres some 2.0 info and screen shots on the site also...

Check it [email protected]
www.epicsoft.net/products/mule

you should add their setup videos to the screamernet section also...One is by Don Balance from Toasterdudeds and the other by Ryan Moore from epicsoft...

just giving a shoutout to my pipline peeps :-)

Andruil
05-11-2006, 10:29 AM
Linux render nodes can be done and I only have one issue left to solve before I know how to solve the rest of it. Currently I am getting .flx files as output from my linux render nodes. Does anyone know how to get linux to output something other than .flx files? If I can get this working I would be more than willing to put together a tutorial on how to create a linux render cluster with a windows master node.

Just in case anyone is wondering I am using wine to run my lwsn.exe and samba to mount a common network drive to a wine drive.

dballesg
05-11-2006, 11:42 AM
Linux render nodes can be done and I only have one issue left to solve before I know how to solve the rest of it. Currently I am getting .flx files as output from my linux render nodes. Does anyone know how to get linux to output something other than .flx files? If I can get this working I would be more than willing to put together a tutorial on how to create a linux render cluster with a windows master node.

Just in case anyone is wondering I am using wine to run my lwsn.exe and samba to mount a common network drive to a wine drive.


If I remember well, I read somewhere that the .flx problems was due that the nodes wouldnt find the file format plugins.

Best regards,
David

Andruil
05-11-2006, 11:46 AM
Thanks that has helped me out greatly. I just found a thread that talked about that issue and when I get a moment to revisit my cluster i'm going to try and get my paths straightened out.

Sigh.... I hate finals.... I have no life during finals....

dballesg
05-11-2006, 02:28 PM
Thanks that has helped me out greatly. I just found a thread that talked about that issue and when I get a moment to revisit my cluster i'm going to try and get my paths straightened out.

Sigh.... I hate finals.... I have no life during finals....


I am glad it helpes.

I would like to see that tutorial about mount the renderfarm with Linux, maybe I would do that on my renderfarm at the office too, but it would help me a lot have instructions on how to do that, cause in Linux I am totally nerd! :)

Best regards,
David

Andruil
05-11-2006, 02:37 PM
lol sounds good. It may be a few weeks though as I am wrapping up finals and well..... sigh.

Anyhow it actually has proven to be a lot easier than I originally thought it was going to be and would be fairly simple for anyone. Only catch is you must have admin access on all the linux machines to install stuff. Everything else will be pretty straight forward and I can practically give you the commands.

dballesg
05-11-2006, 04:12 PM
lol sounds good. It may be a few weeks though as I am wrapping up finals and well..... sigh.

Anyhow it actually has proven to be a lot easier than I originally thought it was going to be and would be fairly simple for anyone. Only catch is you must have admin access on all the linux machines to install stuff. Everything else will be pretty straight forward and I can practically give you the commands.


Ok thanks, I will wait for you tutorial I do not need to do it inmediatly! :)

Best regards,
David

diddy_dinks
05-18-2006, 09:49 AM
hey

i was wondering if anyone has had luck with setting up Xgrid in LightWave... is there a plugin that i need to hunt down or is it some special ninja trick?

thanks in advance for any help :)

~dinky

ps

i will be checking out the tutorials so if i am being redundant to something that has already been posted i apologize

Andruil
06-02-2006, 02:45 PM
Ok I did finally get it all working and I will be working with someone to install it on a beowulf cluster in the next week or two and will have a decent linux tutorial then.


BTW it was just a simple mispointing of the configuration file and once that was solved everything worked straight up.

Scazzino
12-28-2007, 12:17 AM
I've just released DLI_SNUB-Launcher 1.0 (http://dreamlight.com/webshop/utilities/snublauncher.html). It's an Aqua GUI front end for ScreamerNet UB that enables you to interactively build the command lines and launch ScreamerNet UB for standalone, batch or network rendering in a Mac friendly error-free manner including simple drag and drop standalone rendering.

Download the FREE LITE Version (http://dreamlight.com/webshop/utilities/snublauncher.html#installation) today! :thumbsup:

I've also updated Mastering LightWave ScreamerNet for Mac OS X (http://dreamlight.com/insights/10/welcome.html) to include configuring LightWave 9.3.1 ScreamerNet UB manually using shell scripts in Terminal as well as interactively using DLI_SNUB-Launcher.

Enjoy! :D

lordtangent
02-09-2009, 03:39 PM
Hi all,
For Linux?
In my opinion, it's not worth using the Linux Screamernet. It will only work with the small number of plug-in that exist in the package. I think it's better to set up WINE and use the Windows render node under Linux. That way you have access to all the plug-ins that exist for Windows. In addition, I have received reports that it still doesn't lose the speed advantage given by the low overhead of Linux. I'm not sure how that can be the case since it is running Windows under emulation, but there you go...


The very name "WINE" stands for "Wine Is Not an Emulator"

WINE is a re-implementation of the windows API, NOT an emulator. And since most people run Linux on an x86 machine, the code of the program (under Wine) itself is running natively on x86. All WINE does is satisfy windows calls and fool the software into thinking it's on a Windoze machine.

silviotoledo
03-12-2013, 08:58 PM
Several bronken links. Where do I find updated information?
Do I need to install any Lightwave software on the farm? or will the server work with one lightwave licence only?

Silvio Toledo



Hi all,

Here's a thread dedicated to all those tutorials out there that teach people how to configure Screamernet. If I've missed any, please reply to this post with new links and I'll edit...

PC:
Matt Gorner's world-renowned PDF tutorial:
http://www.newtek-europe.com/uk/community/lightwave/gorner/3.html (bottom of the page)

Matt's video tutorial:
http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=24065

Fabio's:
http://www.firedragon.com/~fabio/screamer/screamer.htm

Ours:
http://www.newtek-europe.com/uk/support/download.html

Kevin Phillips':
http://forums.newtek.com/discus/messages/2/13419.html

Mac:
Worms of Art:
http://www.the-worms-of-art.com/tutorials/lightwavetutes_221.html#

Mike Scaramozzino's:
http://dreamlight.com/insights/10/welcome.html

Non-planar's:
http://homepage.mac.com/nonplanar/ (click on the Scream! link)

Ours:
http://www.newtek-europe.com/uk/support/download.html


For Linux?
In my opinion, it's not worth using the Linux Screamernet. It will only work with the small number of plug-in that exist in the package. I think it's better to set up WINE and use the Windows render node under Linux. That way you have access to all the plug-ins that exist for Windows. In addition, I have received reports that it still doesn't lose the speed advantage given by the low overhead of Linux. I'm not sure how that can be the case since it is running Windows under emulation, but there you go...

Third party controllers
Amleto: (Win)
http://www.nodalideas.com/amleto/index.html

ButterflyNetRender: (Win)
http://www.butterflynetrender.com/

Mule: (win)


LightNet: (Win)
[url]http://www.joejustice.org/lightwave/lightnet/

Renderfarm Commander: (Mac OSX)
http://www.brucerayne.com

ScreamerNet Controller: (Mac OSX)
http://www.catalystproductions.cc/screamernet/

Spider: (Win)
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/SXSpider/

TequilaScream: (Win)
http://www.digitaltoons.tv/shop/

Misc
A really good optimiser for rendering, whether through a single machine, or in preparation for distributed rendering, is Kevin Phillips' LCSM (Lean Clean Scene Machine), available for PC and Mac from the NewTek Europe website in our interview with him:
http://www.newtek-europe.com/uk/community/lightwave/phillips/1.html


Phew, think that's all. Let me know if I've missed any! :)

B

BeeVee
03-13-2013, 06:27 AM
Crikey, that's an old post :D I'm not surprised most of the links are now dead. Matt's tutorial was used in the LightWave 10 documentation that you should have, and for a very simple way to use Screamernet I can thoroughly recommend Amleto (http://virtualcoder.co.uk/amleto/) for a Windows renderfarm. It will copy your whole LightWave installation to each rendernode, but it's also practically automatic to use. I have done tests with it on Amazon's cloud computing with success and I know of at least one Hollywood studio doing the same.

B

silviotoledo
03-13-2013, 09:17 AM
Thanks!

octopus2000
03-20-2014, 09:06 AM
can screamernet run on freeDOS?

lightscape
08-20-2014, 07:53 PM
How can screamernet render scenes with its own custom content directory without having to hardcode the -d line

example

---------------------------------
-d\\Mattxp\screamernet\
This command tells ‘LWSN.exe’ where the content directory is on the network, the ‘-d’ is the ‘switch’ that says the following text is the
path to the content directory.
---------------------------------

There's no autodetect for screamernet?

lightscape
08-24-2014, 01:37 AM
After several days I figured it out. You can have custom content directory with screamernet. I don't know if its in the manual but this is how to do it.
First read through Matts screamernet setup tutorial or you will go INSANE setting up screamernet
Skip putting in -d switch on the node bat files indicated in red

Example
LWSN -2 -c\\CORE3770B-PC\Screamernet\bin\Config_SN -dR:\Project\Screamernettest \\CORE3770B-PC\Screamernet\screamer_command\job1 \\CORE3770B-PC\Screamernet\screamer_command\ack1

Make it like this for example
LWSN -2 -c\\CORE3770B-PC\Screamernet\bin\Config_SN \\CORE3770B-PC\Screamernet\screamer_command\job1 \\CORE3770B-PC\Screamernet\screamer_command\ack1

To enable custom content directory do steps for projects that have custom content directory
Launch the special screamernet lightwave icon created from Matts tutorial.
Load your scene inside layout
Press o to bring up preference
Go to Paths tab and make sure its the correct content directory
Close the preference. This will send out the config to the nodes
Launch the nodes.bat on all computers and it will detect the custom directory
Click Network Render tab in layout and press Screamer Init
Render away


Its a big hassle but this is the only way to autodetect custom content directory for Screamernet after googling for days.

Cageman
08-24-2014, 05:20 AM
My quite old videotutorial on setting up and use native ScreamerNET.

Part1: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r8zCZchifKg
Part2: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z_hVLhhcnCU
Part3: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cZTtjEPDRqk&list=UU2xZLAPxh4h8evCkSgFBxAw

Mr Rid
08-29-2014, 10:13 PM
...for a very simple way to use Screamernet I can thoroughly recommend Amleto (http://virtualcoder.co.uk/amleto/) for a Windows renderfarm. It will copy your whole LightWave installation to each rendernode, but it's also practically automatic to use...B

My brain needs something very simple to setup. How do you get Ameleto to render? No docs/tuts I can find. Run server, add job... then what? Status indicates nothing happening.
Run client... it reads "batch finished"... then what?

Messages shows "Sending scene..." to my workstation. But I dont see anything happening. No CPU usage.

Twice I have tried to follow Screamernet setup tuts but its too complicated, and I cant get it to work.

lardbros
09-05-2014, 07:40 AM
The Amleto worked really easily for me at home. (Not that this helps at all... sorry)

You have to make sure that the drive, where the work is, is visible to all of your other machines.
Also, make the top level folder a mapped drive. This just makes it easier.

The docs for amleto pretty much cover most of it I think. Firewalls are a nightmare to things like this, so make sure you have it (and all the ports it needs) allowed through your firewall.
I linked a Win 7 machine and a Win 8 one and Amleto worked flawlessly! (Apart from when Windows decided to update itself over night! Arrrrrgh... TWICE!!)

Docs for Amleto are here:
http://virtualcoder.co.uk/amleto/

There are a few things that don't work, and aren't documented (I don't think). One of them is, it doesn't accept arbitrary frame ranges. It simply ignores this completely.

As for the 'sending scene'. That's the bit where it's physically sending the files to the other node. No processor will be kicking in at this point... does it get further than that? For large scenes and things, this could take some time!

lightscape
09-05-2014, 09:02 PM
Twice I have tried to follow Screamernet setup tuts but its too complicated, and I cant get it to work.

Matt has the shortest and no nonsense, easiest tutorial. Try that.
Just remove the -d switch and try the trick I posted to make screamernet project based as opposed to a fixed content directory which requires packaging files which is a big waste of time.

Mr Rid
09-06-2014, 06:21 AM
...

You have to make sure that the drive, where the work is, is visible to all of your other machines.
Also, make the top level folder a mapped drive. This just makes it easier.

The docs for amleto pretty much cover most of it I think. Firewalls are a nightmare to things like this, so make sure you have it (and all the ports it needs) allowed through your firewall.
I linked a Win 7 machine and a Win 8 one and Amleto worked flawlessly! (Apart from when Windows decided to update itself over night! Arrrrrgh... TWICE!!)

Docs for Amleto are here:
http://virtualcoder.co.uk/amleto/

There are a few things that don't work, and aren't documented (I don't think). One of them is, it doesn't accept arbitrary frame ranges. It simply ignores this completely.

As for the 'sending scene'. That's the bit where it's physically sending the files to the other node. No processor will be kicking in at this point... does it get further than that? For large scenes and things, this could take some time!

Thanks for all the info! I have been corresponding with Amleto support, but have not yet figured out why it wont render for me here. He sent me a new version that writes logs. I am trying a simple test scene with the server and client on the same machine. It just sits there.

lardbros
09-06-2014, 06:55 AM
Ah... after a Windows 7 update, my rendering nodes complained about a Windows Bluetooth driver or something... very weird, but it stopped my machine dead. In order to get it working, I think I updated Windows (again) and everything seemed to work after that.

Clutching at straws a bit, but a Windows update did this to our render farm at work too... stopped LW rendering, but with no errors.
Have you tried loading up LW on your node, and rendering just to check that it works?

Hope you get it sorted... renderfarms and networking are my BIGGEST pain in the *** at work! Hate it...

Airwaves
09-24-2014, 03:14 PM
Can anyone tell me where to find tutorials for screamernet for linux? I just added three computers to my farm and want to see about using linux rather than buying windows.

I have tried amleto and it kind of worked but strangely enough I have had the most success with screamernet. I have also looked into other things like butterfly net render and I tried that on windows and had some success as well. I am not the most tech savvy and the tutorials for screamernet were amazing and walked me right through but I want to use linux for the farm if possible.

As you can tell I am not a linux guru so I may have to get help on this but I need a tutorial if there is one. Thanks