PDA

View Full Version : problem with texture mapping

andromeda_girl
07-26-2004, 07:16 PM
hey gang, as i am new to doing 3D work i need some help with a silly simple issue i am having.

i am trying to apply a map with an alpha channel to a model but even though it has an alpha channel, it always comes in with a solid white background.

i have tried several different variations of the map settings and nothing is working.

is there any special trick to this, or special file format LW prefers to use?

thanks

ginhan
07-26-2004, 07:32 PM
It works when I save it in tif uncompressed, 24 format.
I also have an alpha channel, but I don't know if that's the case or that I have the background as white. I haven't experimented enough.
Meaning that when I bring in the tif in LW, the white gets knocked out.

I don't know how to get the tga to have an alpha.
When I try to save it as tga from photoshop, the save with alpha is disabled.

O, i'm using it in the bump channel.

Silkrooster
07-26-2004, 08:45 PM
Try inverting your alpha channel. I think you have it reversed. You cando this in your image editor or in Lightwave, your choice.
As far as TGA goes, I do not have photoshop yet, so I am only guessing at the problem. Check to see if there is more than one variety of tga listed. Such as tga16, tga24, tga32. If you see a number after it. It is stating the bits that will be saved. Whereas 16 bit is high color, 24 is true color and 32 bit is true color with alpha channel. Therefore you would need to save as tga32 in order for an alpha channel to be saved and then you could check or uncheck the alpha channel box in the save dialog.
Just a thought
Silkrooster

andromeda_girl
07-26-2004, 08:58 PM
ok, new to LW, not new to alpha channels :)

i am creating my maps in photoshop, which i think is part of the problem.