PDA

View Full Version : Sliders problem

marvin
03-30-2003, 06:48 PM
Okay, Here is the deal. I'm good with Lightwave, but I'm just learning sliders and came up with a problem. Basically, I modelled a box, went into layout, created a null. On the null, I added the sliders through the object properties. I set the box rotation first, did add, then tried it. Nothing. Same thing with scale and position.

Is there something else I have to set, or turn on? By the way, it's LW 7.5 on a PC.

marvin

hrgiger
03-30-2003, 07:48 PM
I hate to ask this but did you turn on the sliders?

marvin
03-31-2003, 11:39 AM
Did I turn them on? I went to object properties and under the plugin menu chose “sliders.” The slider showed up with the attribute showing that I have turned on. It's just that when I actually slid the bar between 0 and 1 nothing happened.

Is there some other thing you have to do to turn it on, for example shadows on lights. You have to turn on shadows for the light, but also go into render globals and enable ray-tracing before you can actually see any shadows in a render.

marvin

Aegis
04-01-2003, 03:23 AM
Make sure your range is correct - sliders are context sensitive i.e. if your rotation range is 0 -> 1 then the slider wil only rotate your object by 1 degree max - try 0 -> 360

Try this:

1. Clear scene
2. Create a null
3. Add "Sliders" custom object to the null
4. Open the slider panel
5. Add Camera Position.Z
6. Set range Min -5 Max 5
7. Close panel and click on "Sliders" under Items/Tools
8. Move the slider - camera should move in Z axis

hrgiger
04-01-2003, 07:29 AM
That's what I meant, what Aegis said. Make sure you have sliders enabled under the items tool menu on the left.

marvin
04-01-2003, 07:26 PM
It still isn't working!? Okay, this is what I do (to make sure it's not my mistake):

1. Open Layout (yes, it's going to be this "stupid proof.")
2. Add a null and name it "Controller."