PDA

View Full Version : Making LightWave pay for itself

Martin Adams
07-18-2004, 05:25 PM
Hey all,

As we all know, using such highly complex applications like LightWave aren't cheap. Especially when we add the cost of books, training videos, texture libraries, plugins, etc. It can be a rather expensive hobby for someone like myself. Having said that though, I do feel that the pricing structure is very reasonable compared to the likes of 3DSM.

So far my skills in programming and web development have managed to pay for me to splash out and treat myself in this highly creative package.

I'm going to be starting a new job here in the UK in September as a software developer for the largest 3 letter'd software company.

I've been a contractor in the software field for the past 4 years but would like to be able to earn a few bucks using LightWave and/or Digital Fusion in my spare time once I'm settled in my new job.

The direction I would really see it heading would be 3D art work for companies such as logos, product/prototype demos, etc. The type of things that would be aimed for smaller companies who want to make an impact without a large budget.

Does anyone have any experience they would like to share in doing a similar thing?

What do you feel would be a good way to sell my skills (of which I'm aiming to get first ;))?

I understand a demo reel would be very useful, especially if I'm advertising animation services.

I know what I'm asking is rather general, but I'd love to hear the thoughts of those who do it or are considering as well. I accept that there's a lot of ground work required before my LW skills are considered profitable, but I'd only love LW more if it could make me money :).

Thanks,

Martin.

retinajoy
07-21-2004, 08:33 AM
I recommend Dan Ablans new book "Inside Lightwave 8". It takes you right from beginner level to more advanced. It will give you a general understanding of using and applying the tools.