PDA

View Full Version : Total newbie needs help with Lightwave 7.5!!

catfishmusic
07-16-2004, 03:30 PM
Ok folks,

I'm totally new here. I have a background in art. But have been out of the loop for a long time. I'm adept at Photoshop etc. and quite computer savy. I want to get into 3d modeling and animation for fun. So I just got Lightwave 7.5 and Maya 6 for Mac, and I'm completely lost. I have no idea how to begin. I've watched a bunch of video tutorials, and let's just say I have a whole new respect for you guys!

My questions are:

Which program should I be using?

How do I begin? Are there any must have books that are really great?

Is there any one in the LA area who would trade lessons in exchange for music? (I'm a professional music producer and composer and could score your short film in any style or give you private music lessons on guitar, piano, bass or pro audio recording)

Thanks for your tips,
Catfish

Signal to Noise
07-16-2004, 04:05 PM
Okay, first I'm going to assume you have the LightWave Discovery Edition (if you managed to find it that is) and Maya PLE, right? If not, then you must have shelled out a hell of a lot of money for two apps you know nothing about! What made you decide on LightWave and/or Maya anyway?

I'm not going to go through the pros and cons of each app and whether you should choose one over the other. You need to decide that. Check out "unbiased" forums like CGTalk for an idea of what's what. I highly recommend becoming a member there so you can post questions.

The best way to start and get your feet wet is to pick one app and learn it. If you choose LightWave then go visit NewTek's Tutorial page and try to pick up Dan Ablan's Inside LW [7] book.