PDA

View Full Version : recomend fastest PC for LW

tim pfeiffer
03-29-2003, 10:36 AM
I am a LW user on the MAC. (please don't hurt me)
I am debating switching over to a PC for LW. I'm looking at the new Dell Precision 450 Dual 3GHZ. Money is no object. Weel, within reason of course. I make my living with LW and must have the most powerful baby out there. Of course I'll also have to buy LW for PC. Can anybody steer me in the right direction. Thanks,
Tim

hrgiger
03-29-2003, 04:50 PM
Are the Dual 3's even out yet? That would be a good system if you can afford it. Give you nice quick renders.
Personally I think people are wasting their money by buying the fastest thing out there. 6 months from now you regret it when you see a faster computer out there for half as much as you paid for yours. If you're going to spend 3 or 4 grand on a computer, you might as well buy 2 $1,000 computers so you can keep working on one while the other renders.

Money should always be an object.

js33
03-29-2003, 07:46 PM
<<Of course I'll also have to buy LW for PC.>>

Tim if you have LW 7.5 and a Duo dongle you already have both the PC and Mac version. Another great reason to own LW.
Also I own an iMac and it runs LW 7.5 OK but I prefer using LW on my 2.5 Ghz P4 and soon to have a Dual 3 Ghz also.

Cheers,
JS

Miles
03-30-2003, 06:47 AM
I was working on MAC and (guess technically I still do via my laptop when traveling, but) I just had to 'Switch' to PC because of all the MAC-LW 2nd class crap going on, not just with NT, but with many 3rd party developers. I almost left LW altogether, but since I have contacts who use PC-LW, etc. it would be difficult to work with them if I dropped it for another 3D app. The others swade me to just build a PC for LW use only and I use the MAC for everything else. Never before LW would I have had a need to do this, but there ya go and I hopefully it'll all work out for the better.