PDA

View Full Version : Video IN problems



IMPERIAL
03-29-2003, 06:17 AM
I have some very strange problem... The analog video inputs freeze after few sec. after winrtme.exe is loaded.
I have trid every solution in order of instaling the drivers, SP's, and directx drivers. No change.

Also, when I close the winrtme.exe in task menager, whenever I click on any button in windows, winrtme automaticly start
up and then same thing.. video input is frozen. Even when I click on the internet web page links
winrtme.exe start it self.
Video outputs and toaster programs work just fine.
Firewire capture is working fine too.

I have build 3890 full install CD (same problem with older builds)
Latest Coe update,
Tried bouth XP and 2000 with sP's.
No IRQ conflicts at all.
Every time was clean install with format c.

I have Gigabyte 8iexp 533
P4 2.4Gh 533
767MB DDR
Onboard ATA 133
Onboard Firewire VIA
__________________________________________________
This is NEWTEKRTME.exe (I did not change anything)
__________________________________________________
NewtekRTME Ver 2.0 pfrench
Copyright (c) 1998-2002 NewTek, Inc.
Confidential and Proprietary. Do not distribute.
Initializing...[WSS:4,191]
Reading Config File: "C:\VideoToaster2\Drivers\newtekrtme.cfg"
[cfg:rtme-pool-size 64 MB]
[cfg:rtme-pool-actual-size 64 MB]
[cpubd][cfg:disconnectdelay=16][cfg:vidsynctimeout=250]
[cfg:cgsynctimeout=250][cfg:vidsyncframes=4]
[cfg:vidsync-aud-prequeue=3][cfg:maxpcibandwidth=95MB/s]
[cfg:vid-sync-depth 64][cfg:tbc.threshhold=0x06d][cfg:dve.siz=0,dve.ratio=0]
[VladStat:00035500][AVR: 03][cfg:gnlk-fpga-ver 23][no genlock]
[cfg:i2c-delay 10][cfg:i2c-timeout 10000]
[SDRAM: Refresh 0 RAS 11 CAS 9 NumBanks 2 == 00400000]
[0:127-B][no analog daughter card][7176]
[brev:0,0][cfg:disconnectrow=0][cfg:default-aud-volume=0]
[cfg:v72-gain=0x100][cfg:xlr2panswap=1]
[cfg:bob72trim(4,5,6,7)][cfg:aud-interval 512][cfg:aud-dma-lead 3]
[cfg:audio-delay 7][cfg:aud-sync-depth 32][cfg:aud-mix-pri 6]
[AMTID:816][AudMixThread:178 = 6]
[cfg:PigtailComposites-Disabled][cfg:swit-delay 1]
[#processors=1]

[Switcher Build Date: "Nov 19 2002 12:52:12"]
Server Initialization Succeeded!
Driver Version: 00090003
CB: 029d0000 @ 01770000 (512)
FBufs: [29 / 32]
Vlad Version: 0000012d
VB: ea000000 @ 06d40000

This is NEWTEKRTME.cfg (I did not change anything)

/* DICT */
/*
* $Id: newtekrtme.cfg,v 7.70 2002/10/29 17:41:56 pfrench Exp $
*
* $Source: D:\\prog\\cvs/newtek/newtekrtme/src/newtekrtme.cfg,v $
*
*/

vt
{
config
{
rtme
{
/*
* pool size (in Megabytes) of the RTME
* default = 64, minimum = 16.
*/
poolsize = 64
}

tweaks
{
/*
* Video Delay through the switcher.
* valid values from 0 to 8. Zero is basically
* unusable if you intend on doing live FX.
*/
switdelay = 1

/* Eye-Squared-Sea Delay:
* default = 10
* minimum = 5
* Do not set _below_ 0x05.
*
* note this is related to i2cdelay, the larger
* i2cdelay is, the larger i2ctimeout should be
*/
i2cdelay = 10

/* Eye-Squared-Sea Timeout:
* default = 10000 (ten thousand)
*
* note this is related to i2cdelay, the larger
* i2cdelay is, the larger i2ctimeout should be
*/
i2ctimeout = 10000

/* Closed Captioning Enable
* default = 0 (ten thousand)
*
* bit 0 - poll caption data from video input chip 0 (Toaster In)
* bit 1 - poll caption data from video input chip 1 (Daughter In SX-8 Only)
* bit 2 - send caption data to video input chip 9 (Toaster Out)
*
* Note these options are disabled by default because they create
* about 800 _extra_ interrupts per second to the toaster card
* when they are enabled.
*
*/
closedcaption = 3

audio
{
/* Audio Interval (in samples @ 48.0 kHz)
* must be a power of two, if not
* will default to 512
* minimum = 128
*/
interval = 512

/* External/Live Audio delay through system (in intervals)
*
* Note: This value is tweaked along with "switdelay" to
* maintain synchronization between live audio and video
* _through_ the toaster. Personally, I've noticed that
* 7 is my "cerebral maximum" where I can talk through
* the microphone without my voice confusing me, but
* this is only for Toaster Out. PA Out has zero delay.
*
* default = 7
* minimum = 4
*/
delay = 7

/* Audio DMA output lead time (in intervals)
* default = 3
* minimum = 2
*/
dmalead = 3

/* Audio Mixer Thread Priority
* default = 6 (HIGHEST)
* maximum = 15 (TIME_CRITICAL)
* minimum = 0 (NORMAL)
*/
mixerpriority = 6

/*
*/
maxxlr = 2

bob72
{
trim
{
off = 4 /* off value with no phantom */
on = 5 /* on value with no phantom */
poff = 6 /* off value with phantom */
pon = 7 /* on value with phantom */
}

/* Swap Panning on XLR 2 */
xlr2panswap = 1

/* 8 bit fixed point gain value
*
* 1.0 = 0x100 (default)
* 1.5 = 0x180
* 2.0 = 0x200
*/
vugain = 0x100
}


bob
{
audin
{
defaultvolume = 0
}
}
}

video
{
/* Audio Prequeue for video
* How many packets to forward _in_advance_ to the
* audio mixer. Default = 3, Minimum = 3, normally
* the higher, the better.
*/
audioprequeue = 3

tolerance
{
/* Video "Acceptability" tolerance,
* in scanlines. (minimum 2, maximum 45)
*/
frameheight = 45

/* Video "Acceptability" tolerance,
* chromalock required?
*/
chromalock = 1
}

pigtail
{
/** Enable Composite Video Switcher Inputs on the
* Green, Red, and Blue connectors on the pigtail
* connector. Default = 0 (disabled)
*/
enablecomposites = 0
}
}

/* Switcher Key row follows preview
* when possible
*/
keyrowfollowpreview = 0

/* Switch-to-component delay
* default = 16
*/
disconnectdelay = 16

/* Switcher "temporary" row:
* Which switcher input to select during
* input reconnect. (zero means use internal)
* otherwise the number printed on the SX-8
* should be fine.
*/
disconnectrow = 0

/* Switcher Synchronization "timeout" for
* analog video sources (in milliseconds)
* If video has not been found on the input
* after this amount of time, the switcher
* will automatically insert black frames.
* default = 250, minimum = 50.
*/
vidsynctimeout = 250

/* Switcher Synchronization "timeout" for
* computer generated video sources (in milliseconds)
* If video has not been found on the input
* after this amount of time, the switcher
* will use previously delivered frames
* default = 250, minimum = 50.
*/
cgsynctimeout = 250

/*
* Switcher Synchronization "number of frames"
* delivered threshhold before video is considered
* streaming. default = 4, minimum = 1
*/
vidsyncframes = 4


/* Maximum PRACTICAL PCI bandwidth on this
* computer, in _million_bytes_per_second_.
* minimum = 80, default = 95.
*/
maxpcibandwidth = 95

/*
* Enable Sources without alpha channel to
* sent to downstream key using the most
* recently used Keyer Mode.
*
* 0 - No DSK for output enabled (default)
* 1 - Only Computer Generated sources W/O alpha can DSK
* 2 - Live Video sources can DSK.
* 3 - Computer Generated and Live sources can DSK.
*
*/
dskwithoutalpha = 0

/**
*/
cromulent = 0

/**
* Genlock FPGA Revision to download.
*
* 0 == default
* 21 == fpga v2.1
* 23 == fpga v2.3 (Shipping version)
*
*/
genlockfpga = 23

/**
* Hardware A/V synchronization queue depths
*/
hwsync
{
/* depth in fields, min 8, default 64 */
videodepth = 64

/* depth in frames, min 4, default 32 */
audiodepth = 32
}

tbc
{
/**
* TBC Threshhold: Software TBC threshhold value
* Fraction of a frame in 8-bit fixed point.
* default = 7/16'ths of a frame (0x70)
* minimum = 0x02. Maximum = 0x200
*/
threshhold = 0x6d
}

dve
{
threshhold
{
/*
* Danger Danger: No messy with these.
* default = 0. The switcher will behave
* _VERY_DIFFERENTLY_ if you modify these
* values from their ZERO default!
*/
size = 0 /* range 0 -> 512 */
ratio = 0 /* range 0 -> 17 */
}
}


client
{
capsync
{
debug = 0
}
rtmeout
{
debug = 1
}
}
}

/* DO NOT REMOVE */
config_read_success = "1"
}
}

I hope someone can help,
thanks

SBowie
03-29-2003, 11:28 AM
I have some very strange problem... The analog video inputs freeze after few sec. after winrtme.exe is loaded.
I have trid every solution in order of instaling the drivers, SP's, and directx drivers. No change.

Also, when I close the winrtme.exe in task menager, whenever I click on any button in windows, winrtme automaticly start
up and then same thing.. video input is frozen. Even when I click on the internet web page links winrtme.exe start it self. Assuming that you are using the Toaster card as your Windows default audio device, it is perfectly normal for winrtme to run most of the time, and stopping it will be more or less futile. It will start again any time a system sound is played (you may want to turn off all system sounds so they don't interrupt recording sessions, BTW)

It seems unlikely that winrtme is the source of your problem. It may be encountering some other issue which is preventing its normal functioning though. Glancing over your problems (and assuming you are using more or less normal installation procedures and prefs) the first thing to check on my list of possibles would be your display card drivers.

IMPERIAL
04-02-2003, 08:40 AM
OK, I have tried the following:

- changed 3 differnet power supplies (becouse the 3.3V was too low)

- changed core update, revert it, upgrade it...(I have read somewhere that could be problem)

- changed the motherboard to Gigabyte 8PE800Ultra (maybe 8IEXP was no good)

- disabled and enabled all onboard hardware (to free PCI transfer or something)

- tried hercules GeF2 GTS, TNT Nvidia, and GeF4200 gainward 128 (GeF4ti4200 was eating 3.3v to 2.160)
(TNT reduced it to 2.220)
(GeF2 hercules reduced it to 2.260)

- tried all VGA drivers for all cards

All i got is that the video input is now freezing after 3-6min, not in few seconds.

So i would need some more advice if possible.
thanks,

Paul Lara
04-02-2003, 08:48 AM
Originally posted by IMPERIAL
- tried all VGA drivers for all cards

All i got is that the video input is now freezing after 3-6min, not in few seconds.



Don't use the drivers supplied by the card manufacturer; instead go to nvidia and use their reference driver for Win2k/WinXP