PDA

View Full Version : How do I Animate somthing?

Night Walker01
07-11-2004, 12:24 AM
I have downloaded a 3DS model from a website. Its a Starwars walker. It has two legs and i cant seem to find out how to make it walk. Can somone help me on how to animate somthing that is supposed to walk? thanks

Carm3D
07-11-2004, 05:04 AM
Put the leg segments in seperate object layers. Move the pivot point for each layer at the joints. Load it into layout and with "Parent in place" active, set up your model's heirchy. Then it's one foot in front of the other..

Whether you want to use IK, manual keyframes and/or motion mixer is all up to how you want to animate. There's more than one way.

Night Walker01
07-11-2004, 11:48 AM
wow, im confused with what you said. How do I put the leg segments in differant object layers? Sorry im kinda new at this.

Signal to Noise
07-11-2004, 12:52 PM
Originally posted by Night Walker01
wow, im confused with what you said. How do I put the leg segments in differant object layers? Sorry im kinda new at this.

Select the polys that make up each part of the leg segment, cut (CTRL + X), open new layer, and paste (CTRL + V).

I'm pretty sure this is going the lead to more questions. Best bet, since you're new to this, is grab some basic tutorials from NewTek's Tutorials page. (http://www.newtek.com/products/lightwave/tutorials/index.html) Also, I recommend picking up Albee's Character Animation book (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/1556229011/qid=1089571719/sr=8-9/ref=pd_ka_9/002-5294538-7991212?v=glance&s=books&n=507846) and/or Ablan's Inside [7] (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/0735711348/qid=1089571888/sr=8-1/ref=pd_ka_1/002-5294538-7991212?v=glance&s=books&n=507846) or [8] (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/0735713685/qid=1089571719/sr=8-2/ref=pd_ka_2/002-5294538-7991212?v=glance&s=books&n=507846) book, depending on which version of LW you own.

Good luck!

Carm3D
07-11-2004, 12:57 PM