PDA

View Full Version : Importing a 3D Studio MAX File???



Zio
07-09-2004, 03:14 PM
Is there any way to get a 3D Studio MAX file into Lightwave 7.0? I have a nice collection of cars I would like to use in Lightwave but they are all in MAX format.

Any help? Ideas?

Thanks!

pdrake
07-09-2004, 03:31 PM
nope

ursa
07-09-2004, 03:49 PM
you could export them from max to .3ds files
those can be loaded into modeler

Djamu
07-09-2004, 04:27 PM
you need 3dsmax to read the files ( they don't give away the file structure :( )

If you have 3dsmax export as FBX install the lightwave FBX plugin
( get it on the Newtek site ), et voila !

FBX is better than 3DS

Zio
07-09-2004, 04:36 PM
****, I don't have 3d Studio MAX!

Elmar Moelzer
07-09-2004, 04:58 PM
The problem with MAX- files is the modifier- stack- based approach.
Since geometry is generated on the fly, you would need to emulate all the tools and plugins, that were used during the generation of the object in order to import MAX- files into any application other than MAX.
CU
Elmar

Zio
07-09-2004, 05:01 PM
I guess I'm out of luck then.

Thanks for the help guys.

ivanze
07-10-2004, 01:01 PM
Ask someone who has 3DMax and Deep Exploration to make the conversion for you.

With both programs you can convert the scenes to LW scenes.