PDA

View Full Version : Old Lantern

reverie
07-09-2004, 05:16 AM
Hi,

I'm a newbie, working toward intermediate level. :D At www.indeptharts.com we do a 3D challenge every week, and this is an entry I did for the last one. The challenges really help -- they make you push your limits and try out new tools. I'm Lightwaver #2 over there...Lightwaver #1 is a guy named Boulyabase, who is currently learning C4D for professional reasons, so I'm lonely. All others there are C4D'ers. ;)

Anyway, here's the picture. BTW, I wrote my first very basic tut, for a friend who's learning Lightwave and is in more desperate straits than me. It's here (http://www.indeptharts.com/viewtopic.php?t=1287&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0) if anyone would be so kind as to proof it.

Thanks,
Jan

reverie
07-09-2004, 05:20 AM
Here's the wireframe. BTW, I textured the glass bowl using techniques in Leigh Van Der Byl's book then added a bit of noise in Photoshop. The texture for the metal parts of the lantern is a LW8 preset -- dented bronze, I believe. I was tempted to paint Leigh's rusty metal texture, but that dented bronze was so convenient...:D

Basic three point lighting system used. I don't think I overlapped the key and fill lights correctly though. :mad:

tickle
07-10-2004, 04:54 AM
I think you have a really moody setup which I like.

Maybe you should used a different camera angle so you can see the hook the lantern is hanging on a bit better.

Great start!

reverie
07-10-2004, 05:39 AM
Thank you for the encouragement, tickle! :)

I'll try another render and see how it looks from the side.

Jan

reverie
07-10-2004, 06:21 AM
Here's another view. :)

I didn't add any noise in Photoshop this time, but I did adjust the levels and sharpened a bit to bring out the details. I have really got to work on my lighting skills.

Jan

Hoopti
07-11-2004, 02:07 PM
Second one looks much better. I like the texture, it almost looks like it's been repainted over rust kinda like my real lantern.