PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave will not start

panoz7
03-28-2003, 08:30 PM
I recently installed lightwave on my home machine and it will no longer start. When I try to open modeler or layout the computer's hour glass comes up for a few seconds and then one of those stupid "report this error to microsoft" boxes comes up. I have used lightwave on my computer before but only once before this box came up. Does lightwave require XP Pro. I am only running XP home and didn't know if that was the problem.

Thanks for your help in advanced,
Grif Friedman

hrgiger
03-28-2003, 09:55 PM
I'm running pro but I know it will work on an XP machine. I was using it on Win 98 before this one.

I hate to ask this but is this a LW version with Dongle or is it warez?

Have you tried re-installing LW yet?

panoz7
03-29-2003, 07:05 AM
I have reinstalled lightwave twice but it does the same thing after one use. I am not sure what you mean by "version with dongle or is it warez." I am new at lightwave and recently learned it at my school. I am using the education version provided to me by my school.

Thanks for your help

WCameron
03-29-2003, 08:15 AM
Sounds like the good old CFG File Corruption problem.

try deleting your lightwave cfg files (they shold probably be in
something like "documents and settings/administrator/"

then try opening lightwave again and see what happens.

- Will.

hrgiger
03-29-2003, 04:52 PM
The dongle is what you get when you buy Lightwave. It's a hardware lock that you install on the back of the computer.

Does the education version not have a dongle? I would think it would.

panoz7
03-30-2003, 08:13 AM
I assume it doesn't but considdering that I didn't even no it had one I will presume that that is what is wrong.

Thanks for the help,
Grif

Epita
03-30-2003, 12:33 PM