PDA

View Full Version : What tools do I need

ohare03
07-06-2004, 09:30 PM
Hello everyone. I'm a super noob to this Lightwave 8. What kind of tools do I need to effectivly use this program? What about that mouse pad with the pen to draw with? Would that be helpful? What about other programs or apps? What apps can you use with Lightwave 8 to produce movies, game, grapics, etc.? What else would you suggest? Thanks for the help. BTW, where are some really good tutorials to help me get started?

Silkrooster
07-06-2004, 10:18 PM
At this point you should sit down and make a list of what you really want to do with Lightwave. Do you want to create graphics for yourself, make a little extra cash on the side, professionally start your own business, or to get ahead where you work.
Next you need to deside on what you want to create with Lightwave. Whether it is making logo's, Create animations to put in home movies, create DVD Menu effects, create special effects for a professional movie, create objects for a video game, create a cartoon, make a full length movie. As you can see the areas that Lightwave can be used are endless.
This will help you decide on how fast you want to learn Lightwave, how much your willing to spend on hardware and software as well as training materials.
Some web sites I recommend checking out are:
www.flay.com
http://members.shaw.ca/lightwavetutorials
www.3dgarage.com
www.splinegod.com
www.adobe.com
www.corel.com
www.maromedia.com
www.curiouslabs.com
www.daz.com
www.e-onsoftware.com
www.maxon.de
www.righthemisphere.com
www.pinniclesys.com
http://pixologic.com
www.wacom.com
www.renderosity.com
www.runtimedna.com

Don't forget to check out bookstores like www.amazon.com and do searches for books, video's and magazines.
Also on the front page of Newteks website is a link for keyframe magazine.
Hope this helps
Silkrooster

mattclary
07-07-2004, 01:57 PM