PDA

View Full Version : Changing Poly selection color

ModelNewb
07-06-2004, 09:05 AM
I'm a complete newb and I admit it! I went to a friend here at work who has used LW for quite awhile and he didn't have the answer and wasn't sure it was possible. So, here's my question -

I was trying to learn some basics on a pre made boat model. The polys are yellow-white. When I select them, its darn near impossible to see the yellow select line with normal. Is there a way to change my selection color?

Regards,
Aaron R>

nerdyguy227
07-07-2004, 04:39 PM
You mean by selecting the polygons and pressing "q"?

edit: Sorry I misread it and posted something compleatly wrong

bloontz
07-07-2004, 04:58 PM
You can change the wirframe color for selected polys in LW8 in the info dialog.

ModelNewb
07-08-2004, 07:14 AM
I'm not trying to change the polygon itself. I'm trying to change the color of the selection outline. Its normally a yellowish color, with the polygon normal being dotted yellow. I want to use different colors.

Do I have to edit a config file manually?

Regards,
Aaron R>

Karmacop
07-08-2004, 08:12 AM
I don't think you can change the colour :(

ModelNewb
07-08-2004, 08:33 AM
Sniff sniff. I am sad. The reason I wanted to change it was I'm working on a model which has alot of lightly colored areas. Its difficult to see the selections I've made, since the colors tend to blend in a bit.

Nutters. Any way of asking for an enhancement in a future version?

Regards,
Aaron R>

Karmacop
07-08-2004, 08:51 AM
Yeah, it's fairly annoying. What some people do is make their models really weird colours and then use a texture map to make the model the right colour. For example model in smooth shaded mode with a contrasted colour, and then have a texture map on the surface that is the correct colour (even just a 1 pixel by 1 pixel image using planar projection will work) which you can vie by changing to textured mode.