PDA

View Full Version : Experimental Features...



Zach
06-26-2004, 04:20 PM
Anyone know the goods on the "Experimental Features" in LW8?

crtl+shift+alt+f1 activates them, but what are the other commands that bring up the experimental features?

nerdyguy227
06-26-2004, 07:55 PM
Originally posted by Zach
experimental features?

What the heck are they?

hrgiger
06-26-2004, 08:00 PM
Be careful, one of them takes you back in time and you might bump into your parents, have an incestuous affair with your mother, and then you'd never be born.

No, I don't know what they do. I know one of them in an earlier version increased the frame rate in Layout. That's one experimental feature I'd like to see fully developed.

hazmat777
06-27-2004, 02:40 AM
Don't touch it, you fool! That's the History Eraser button!

-Ren

hazmat777
06-27-2004, 02:47 AM
Seriously though, I thought I read on here somewhere about why the Construction History was a problem to implement. I hope they are working on a experimental version at least.

eben
06-27-2004, 04:39 AM
one of the experimental feature concern 'object dissolve'...
(opengl real time)

regards,

Eben.

gjjackson
06-28-2004, 05:54 AM
From the tips in LW 7.5c help.

Tip: Modeler Speedup
In the display mode options for the viewports, make sure you disable 'show cages' and 'show guides' if you don't need them. These tend to bog down modeler. Besides, in LW7.x, you can click on the 'virtual' subd vertices... I believe you can also do this in 6.5 if you enable the experimental features

Submitter: kevin phillips (Kevman

Werner
06-28-2004, 06:50 AM
alt+scroll wheel gives you a slow zoom in and out in Layout.

I like the object disolve in viewports!

caesar
06-28-2004, 10:38 AM
Originally posted by hrgiger
Be careful, one of them takes you back in time and you might bump into your parents, have an incestuous affair with your mother, and then you'd never be born.


Really disgusting...

anieves
06-28-2004, 10:59 AM
some pple have no sense of humor...:rolleyes:

mattclary
06-28-2004, 11:38 AM
No doubt!

And he's probably never read "Time Enough for Love" by Robert Heinlein. ;)

lwaddict
06-28-2004, 11:44 AM
And he definitely didn't make it though the "Back to the Future" series...oddly rated PG despite the mother/son lust thing.

hrgiger
06-28-2004, 01:57 PM
If I was so easily offended, I'd of saved myself the misery of life in general and found the nearest cliff to dive off of...with some nice sharp jaggies at the bottom.

And yeah, it was a back to the future reference, a nice family film.

caesar
06-29-2004, 11:28 AM
I have humor only in funny things....thatīs why I appreciate my freedom of expression here, like you do. If someone has a "misery" life, dont be the one to push him/her down the cliff!

Back to lightwaving.....

marble_sheep
06-29-2004, 05:43 PM
I don't think I can activate these features... I don't have the 1.21 gigawatts required to power them.

Sorry... had to do it :D

But seriously... how did you find out about these things? Is there a list of them somewhere? (If it's in the help files... oops, I never read those things...)

lesterfoster
06-29-2004, 06:25 PM
dos this have something to do with Armageddon? Or is this real. Tell me before I try it!

prospector
06-29-2004, 11:31 PM
1.21gigawatts STILL wouldn't be enough
you need
1.21 Jigawatts

And oner of the experimental features is
make crashes go away
and the other (in less than Alpha testing) is
make 1 app

JamesCurtis
06-30-2004, 07:23 AM
This thread has kinda gotten off the point here! we were wondering what hidden features are in Lightwave [8]!!

I do appreciate humor as much as anyone, though!

lesterfoster
06-30-2004, 07:31 AM
I agree with JamesCurtis. I want to know more before I try this.

nerdyguy227
07-01-2004, 08:32 AM
really, what do they do?

Wickster
07-01-2004, 10:34 AM
i do remember back then that pressing and holding some key + F9 would activate an experimental render engine which is supposedly be faster than the regualr F9 render...i also hear that it did cause some polygons being rendered wrong using radiosity with this experimental render...but that was on ver. 6 and 7. i'm not sure if they had incorporated this onto 8 already.

Macet01
07-01-2004, 12:45 PM
Originally posted by hrgiger
Be careful, one of them takes you back in time and you might bump into your parents, have an incestuous affair with your mother, and then you'd never be born.


What would be even worse would be returning to the present just to realize that you are your own father. Eeeeewwwwwwwww!!!!!

:D

johnnyh66
07-01-2004, 03:48 PM
I remember you could unlock an audio track in 5.7c?, import a .wav file and scrub through it... that was nice. What ever happend to that?

lesterfoster
07-01-2004, 06:39 PM
__________________
Experimental Features... Anyone know the goods on the "Experimental Features" in LW8?

crtl+shift+alt+f1 activates them, but what are the other commands that bring up the experimental features?

tell me more befor I try IT!

WizCraker
07-01-2004, 08:06 PM
Originally posted by johnnyh66
I remember you could unlock an audio track in 5.7c?, import a .wav file and scrub through it... that was nice. What ever happend to that?

You still can you need to load the audio track through the scene editor. Then it will load and you can scrub through it in the timeline or just hit play.

lesterfoster
07-02-2004, 05:53 PM
To Jonnyh66. :

I know that you can import a *.wav file in LightWAVE now. You do it with the sceen editor now. I do not know about 5.7. as that was before my time.


I still want to know what the Experimental Features are befor I try it!:p

nerdyguy227
07-03-2004, 07:53 PM
Any lightwave experts know about this?

Proton?
Chuck?

nerdyguy227
07-04-2004, 09:48 AM
Ok I did a test render:

The truck scene from the content folder:

without experemental fetures: 3 min. 52 sec.

With the experemental fetures: 4 min 5 sec.

lol

nerdyguy227
07-09-2004, 09:38 PM
How do you load a sound wav into the scene editor?

lesterfoster
07-10-2004, 09:38 AM
Originally posted by nerdyguy227
How do you load a sound wav into the scene editor?

Open up the scene editor. And inside the scene editor, click on the audio button, select load audio.

You well see the wave file in your timeline and you can hear it as you slide your slider.

It helps if you are trying to do lip syncing.. Now you can not render your file with the sound in it.
So you half to re-add it using some kinde of video editing program.

It would be nice if you could do a render and have the sound in it. Any one know if you can do this?

Kvaalen
07-10-2004, 08:33 PM
Originally posted by lesterfoster
dos this have something to do with Armageddon? Or is this real. Tell me before I try it!

You can always try it and disable it with the same keys. And yes... it's real. ;)

How did you guys hear about this?

EDIT: Doing a google search brought this up:
http://www.flay.com/getnewsdetail.cfm?ID=328

Note that the second shortcut is Ctrl+Alt+F3 without the Shift. Interesting, but I'd like to know more. :)

Oh... and you don't need the Alt to enable and disable this feature.

lesterfoster
07-11-2004, 03:04 AM
Originally posted by Kvaalen


How did you guys hear about this?



I found out from this posting that Zach started.

I would like to know more about the Experimental Features that are in lightwave.

Are there any Experimental Features in the VideoTOASTER?

nerdyguy227
07-11-2004, 06:34 PM
I find this thread to be particularly intrusting.

adhesiveX
09-19-2007, 08:40 AM
Hey guys aren't there any experimental features in this latest version of Lightwave 9.3? Just wondering.

Dodgy
09-19-2007, 10:02 AM
You can still speed up IK using this method. I've popped that up onto the Lightwiki so people will be able to find it ;)

Andrewstopheles
03-15-2010, 09:35 AM
Thread resurrection initiated: can anyone anything new to add to this discussion? More info on any experimental features would be sweet.

Cageman
03-15-2010, 05:57 PM
Thread resurrection initiated: can anyone anything new to add to this discussion? More info on any experimental features would be sweet.

You can apparently view normalmaps in OGL if pluging it into the bump-input (nodes). Have not tested it yet though.

:)

JeffrySG
03-15-2010, 10:09 PM
No doubt!

And he's probably never read "Time Enough for Love" by Robert Heinlein. ;)


And he definitely didn't make it though the "Back to the Future" series...oddly rated PG despite the mother/son lust thing.

My favorite was the "Futurama" take on the whole thing... one of my favorite episodes!