PDA

View Full Version : new model, problems with windows

andromeda_girl
06-24-2004, 12:22 PM
I am a novice at modeling, so i am having some problems getting around my window needs for a new model of the USS Enterprise.

First, a bit about my model:
I am using a combination of blueprint images for reference, and i switch between them as needed, so if my model in the images doesn't match up exactly with the BG images, that is why- because parts were made from other references.

Ok- so i am trying to place windows with nice ledges on them, very slightly inset, upon the upper decks area. There will be more all over but considering this is the worst, most rounded area for windows i decided to start here!

I tried a few different methods and found that the solid drill works great, but i get pinched, strange distortions in my mesh afterwards.

please take a look at the supplied images to see what i mean-

i am not sure if this is what some people call 'open GL errors' that can simply be ignored (i doubt it) or if there is something worse taking place. i cannot find out how to get around it. at first when it happened i realized i had bad joints where the new polys were created, and so i merged the stray, redundant points which helped but not 100% despite getting all of them.

anyone know how i'd go about this?

THANK YOU!

image 1- just a view of the work so far on the primary hull- not bad for a novice, huh?
the 3 round 'windows' in front are, in fact, not windows so i am not talking about these- they were made with the solid drill tool and worked fine. they don't need to be inset. the insetting of the windows is where most of the problems arise, although some slight pinching appears after the use of the solid drill for the actual windows parts.

more images follow---

andromeda_girl
06-24-2004, 12:26 PM
Ok, so this is my upper decks part, it was made subpatch to get a nice rounded part. the red arrow points to the windows

andromeda_girl
06-24-2004, 12:28 PM