PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave 5.6 patch?



Blasterface
06-21-2004, 03:12 PM
Well I took the plunge and bought LW 5.6 only to find it doesn't work under XP.
Can anyone tell me if there's a patch or whatever or maybe I'm just SOL?

robewil
06-21-2004, 03:38 PM
What doesn't work? A friend of mine is using 5.6 on XP and it seems to be working fine.

Signal to Noise
06-21-2004, 03:53 PM
You could also try installing and running 5.6 in Win XP's Compatibility Mode.

Blasterface
06-21-2004, 05:01 PM
I can get it to model but when I press the tab key for that great metanurbs look and save the object and open it in layout I get a screen with a small dot in the middle.
I tryed the compatability mode the first thing.
I guess I'll just work with blocky unsmoothed models till I figure it out.

Blaster

gjjackson
06-22-2004, 06:08 AM
You could check here if it will help.

ftp://ftp.newtek.com/pub/Patches/LightWave_Windows/

Blasterface
06-22-2004, 07:19 AM
Well funny thing is C4d reads the saved Nurbs data just fine, so the workaround is to import into C4D.
Anyway here's a render:)

Blaster

ivanze
06-22-2004, 07:32 AM
If Iīm not wrong you canīt load nurbs in LW 5.6 layout.

Blasterface
06-22-2004, 08:14 AM
Yep that's what I'm finding. When I try I get this. :)

Blaster

robewil
06-22-2004, 09:37 AM
Okay, now I understand. Lightwave 5.6 does not handle nurb objects in layout. You have to freeze them in Modeler. This has nothing to do with XP.

Blasterface
06-22-2004, 09:59 AM
Thanks so much, I tryed that and all is well.


Blaster

robewil
06-22-2004, 10:12 AM
Yeah, it's been awhile since I've used 5.6. Your previous comment jogged my memory and I remembered those days of Lightwave being a polygon-only renderer.