PDA

View Full Version : Workflow Improvements, coming up!



harlan
06-21-2004, 12:00 PM
Well, I probably shouldn't post this as everytime I make something and then post the info before I finish it takes me an extra million years to complete, however:

I've been working on some workflow optimizations for LW to more closely mimic Maya & XSI. It consists of a few scripts, .cfg files & a plug-in or two in addition to the "renaming" of tools to match the "real-world" terminology used in every other pro app in the world. It'll also include the Nostromo configs - as they utilize the newly reworked mouse menus.

Should be done by the end of the week, time permitting.

This is definitely more than re-done Menu & Key configs however - should be cool. Being a Maya user & a LW user, I can honestly say that it makes it easier to work between both apps.

Harlan

PS - I'll post detailed descriptions later, but that's the news for now.

badllarma
06-21-2004, 12:03 PM
looking forward to seeing them harlan :)

harlan
06-21-2004, 12:04 PM
PPS - Oh, and this will be entirely Mac & PC. Developed on the Mac of course! ;)

jeremyhardin
06-21-2004, 02:27 PM
on the mac note, also looking forward to it then...
;)

harlan
06-22-2004, 06:14 PM
What do most of you use as your screen res? 1280x1024? 1600x1200? blah blah??

harlan
06-22-2004, 09:47 PM
Since you all suck sausage, and won't tell me your screen sizes - you'll get what I give you and like it!!

I'm almost done with these suckas, just got a few more things to finalize. You may or may not like them, but it certainly makes things in LW more user friendly to the Maya animator.

harlan
06-22-2004, 09:48 PM
Wheeee...look at me...I'm conversing with myself. La la la la

Muad'dib
06-22-2004, 10:21 PM
Sounds great - look forward to these ... oh late but 1600x1200 for me ;)

badllarma
06-22-2004, 11:29 PM
that will do for me harlan :) mines 1280x1024 :D

hazmat777
06-23-2004, 12:03 AM
1280 x 1024

Thanks ahead of time!

jin choung
06-23-2004, 12:10 AM
just to confirm that there seems to be no sensible majority whatsoever: 1024 x 768

looking forward to the paint effects and trax!

jin

harlan
06-23-2004, 12:18 AM
hehehe...you might be pleasantly surprised!!! ;) kidding of course.

However there are a few cool thingies - like "Volumetric Primitives" so to speak. Click Create>Volume Primitives>Cube - and A Null is added to the scene with Voumetric parameters applied to it. Blah Blah, nothing fancy, but it gave me something to do this week. ;)

Actually, the main reason behind making this junk is to maintain a similar workflow throughout the facility - and I've always hated the default LW Menu layouts (especially in Modeler).

Karmacop
06-23-2004, 05:59 AM
1280*960 .. I like to keep my screen at a standard ratio :p

grafikimon
06-23-2004, 06:48 AM
mac laptop 1024x768
pc desktop 1600x1200

T-Light
06-23-2004, 08:09 AM
PC Desktop 1280*1024

And to throw the cat amongst the pidgeons

PC Laptop 1680*1050 Widescreen :p

Nemoid
06-23-2004, 08:27 AM
Interesting project!!
can't wait to see what this is all about :D

Do it for different resolutions starting at least from 1024X768

P.S. allow the user to do operations with the less mouse clicks possible thanx.thios would be areal benefit.

Mouse clicks are the workflow n°1 public enemy

Exper
06-23-2004, 09:26 AM
For me:
1024 x768 PC Laptop

1280 x 1024 -> 1600 x 1200 PC Desktop

Then...
good work harlan! :cool:

hairy_llama
06-23-2004, 10:13 AM
for me: dual 1280x1024 screens.

phil lawson
06-23-2004, 10:50 AM
^^ Likewise. :)

TheDAve
06-23-2004, 11:33 AM
PC Laptop 1920x1200

harlan
06-23-2004, 11:41 AM
Cool. Thanks all for the replies. @ 1280x1024 all of the buttons should be visible - anything smaller and you'll just get a couple "more" popupmajiggers.

As soon as I get the permission from some of the 3rd Party Script authors to include their scripts in the distribution, I'll post the zips. There are a few currently available "freebie" LScripts that I'd like to include in the package to increase the capabilities - including them assures that everyone will have the exact same setup.

siproductions
06-23-2004, 03:21 PM
1280x1024 for me. This looks like a really neat idea. Can't wait to see more. :)

CB_3D
06-23-2004, 03:56 PM
1280x1024 too, desk- and laptop.

hile i have my own very personal configs i always like to see other people´s ideas.

Robi
06-23-2004, 05:15 PM
1600x1200

I'm curious :)

Bytehawk
06-23-2004, 05:33 PM
1280x1024
X2

:D

pdrake
06-23-2004, 08:07 PM
1600 x 1200 on the main and 1280 x 1024 on second.

at the office whatever the cinema display is set at on the highest.

answer your god **** personal messages.

jin choung
06-23-2004, 08:38 PM
oh yeah...

the modeler interface circa 7.5c is arranged as by someone with a brain injury.

i mean 'CONSTRUCT'? 'DETAIL'? what tool DOESN'T fit into that description?!?!?!

brain injury!

can't wait to see what the dealy is.

jin

harlan
06-23-2004, 11:37 PM
True...So True...

While the stuff I'll be posting isn't anything altogether that dramatic, it will definitely speed up your workflow (I'm hoping).

The actual Menu layout is much more like that of Maya's. The "Top Group" of the Menu configs maintain a structure identical to the File, Edit, Display & Window menus of Maya (including naming, functionality, and arragement), while the "Tab's" represent the switching of Maya's "Animation, Dynamics, Render, etc.." modes with the menu bar along the side of the interface reflecting the functions found in the Maya menu bar when you switch between those modes. Make sense?

Plus there's some additional scripts I've been building included which for example will attach a Soft Body to an object with a single click and pull up that item's Soft Body panel for editing. In other words, you click Create Soft Body, and LW will apply the SoftFX plugin to the selected item, followed by bringing up the SoftFX panel, and you're ready to tweak - then calculate the simulation by clicking the button directly on LW's interface (not on the Item Properties panel). So no need to d!ck around with the Item Properties panel at all. There's also scripts for "Cam and Aim", & "Cam, Aim, and Up" - blah blah blah, a bunch of other stuff.

You want to bring up the expression editor? Simply click Expression Editor. No need to bring up the Master Plugins Panel, Add Expressoin Editor, and Double Click to Open. - you just make one click.

Again, nothing grand, just a bunch of scripts to reduce unneccessary steps & clicks - plus a new menu & key config.

harlan
06-23-2004, 11:58 PM
Speaking of...I'm up to like 17 custom scripts already...I wonder if there's a way to compile them all into one script?? N E 1?? N E 1?? Boolean?? <---said in a Ben Stein like voice

jin choung
06-24-2004, 12:11 AM
very nice.

it makes perfect sense. really like the idea about simply cutting down the steps.

lw is very capable but in this day and age, sometimes there are just too many goshdarn clicks! and drop down menus! ack!

same thing with ik setup too.... seriously, first time i setup ik in maya after having used lw for years, i was indignant with the unfairness of it all.... same thing with the ease of skeleton setup!

anyhoo, consider me officially moist with anticipation.

jin

Nemoid
06-24-2004, 06:25 AM
Yap I agree on all these points.

Kill the **** unnecessary clicks!! :D

agrippa
06-27-2004, 10:14 AM
Stop teasing already!!! When are these going to be available? "The end of the week?" Which week?? LOL But seriously, it'll be awesome to see these ideas in action! The UI has needed some help for quite a while. Thanks in advance for all the hard work, Harlan.

agrippa

harlan
06-29-2004, 12:20 AM
Thanks guys. I'm still awaiting permission from two LScripters to let me include their scripts in the package. If I don't hear from them in the next day or two, I'll pull their scripts & include an additional menu .cfg with there tools removed.

In the meantime, I've been completing the modeler enhancements.

It's really pretty cool.

Exper
06-29-2004, 03:34 AM
Great! :cool:

Nemoid
06-29-2004, 08:01 AM
can't wait for this great script . keep up the good work

agrippa
06-29-2004, 09:56 AM
In the meantime, could you post a couple screenshots of the new enhancements?

Purdy please?!?!?

LOL

Thanks again

agrippa

Jeff_G
06-29-2004, 04:59 PM
LW8 only? I hope not. :) I'm still running 7.5.

I'm very curious though!

agrippa
06-29-2004, 06:31 PM
From what I'm gathering from the LW8 "PUBLIC BETA", it's still not ready for prime time anyway...

agrippa

harlan
07-12-2004, 11:02 AM
Not to keep dangling the proverbial carrot, but I'm getting very close to releasing these suckers. A few final cross platform tests remain, and we're using them in a production right now to make sure the workflow is as refined as possible prior to release. Oh, and there's a few extras that have now been included in the package as well.

Very soon

3DBob
07-12-2004, 12:02 PM
1920 * 1200 Apple 23" on PC for me please

Thanks for your hard work harlan.

3DBob

Exper
07-13-2004, 03:16 AM
Ah... I cannot sleep at night... just keep waiting! :D

Good working! :cool:

papou
07-13-2004, 04:10 AM
hmm, curious...need to survey this thread...

battery555
07-13-2004, 05:19 AM
1280X1024 MAC, LW7.5c :D
thanks in advance

Matt
07-13-2004, 06:00 AM
for what it's worth: 1280 x 1024 (But I don't use Maya!)

Exper
07-13-2004, 07:34 AM
Matt... me too... eh?
What?
I don't use Maya! :D

archiea
07-13-2004, 02:06 PM
Pushing up to the top, 'cause I hear that harlan likes to be on top!!! :rolleyes:

Keep us posted man!!!!

GCL
07-25-2004, 11:36 AM
Any updates on this forthcoming workflow improvements ?
Interested to know what's the deal.

:confused:

harlan
07-25-2004, 11:59 AM
I'll try to post an update later this evening. I've been out of town (in New York) for a while, and things are finally beginning to settle down a little.

Thanks for the interest

Triple G
07-27-2004, 01:27 AM
FWIW, dual 1280x1024 on my Mac desktop, 1920x1200 widescreen on my PC laptop.

Harlan, did you ever mention whether these will be compatible with pre-[8] versions of LW? I probably wouldn't use them (no offense intended...I'm just stubbornly set in my ways), but it's always nice to see what others use.

Sastira
08-02-2004, 08:39 PM
...bump...

:D

How's it coming so far, harlan?

GCL
08-06-2004, 08:25 AM
Is it DOA ?
Any info would be cool, I hope it's not vaporware.
Still waiting...

harlan
08-06-2004, 09:27 AM
No, no, I'm still wrapping it up. The hold up is on a Window Manager tool that allows you to switch your Lightwave window config on the fly.

The concept is, if you like your windows arranged a certain way when you're animating and then a different way when you're surfacing (or whatever) then you can pull up the window manager and just click between the various layouts (which you define initially).

Thanks for your continued interest. With SIGGRAPH being just around the corner, some things in my workload had to be rescheduled a bit, and this, unfortunately, was one of those.

badllarma
08-06-2004, 09:41 AM
harlen one of the problems with the windows manager is it DOES NOT see the new scene editor it only see the old one a bug I found a while back, no dout this is causing you a few problems :rolleyes:

Newtek really need to get an update out :(

harlan
08-06-2004, 10:18 AM
You got that right, my friend.

It also pisses me off to no end when switching scenes and the Scene Editor disappears.

Grrrrrrrrrr

harlan
08-16-2004, 01:13 PM
If all goes as planned, the first half (modeler; layout will follow soon after) of the workflow enhancements will be ready before the night is over.

The new workflow is quite intuitive, with the most commonly used tools readily available, eliminating the need to shuffle through the different tabs to find them.

The structure follows a hierarchical sort of theme throughout. Meaning that...ahh screw it...you'll see.

Oh, and all of Modeler's original "Tabs" are included in the set (seperated by a spacer tab) so that you can continue to work in the traditional LW style while evaluating this new format.

I also owe a few people Nostromo SpeedPad config files (I'll try and include them with the modeler cfg's posted later).

see ya

agrippa
08-16-2004, 01:17 PM
w00t!

THANK YOU HARLAN!!!

harlan
08-17-2004, 01:52 PM
Just gotta finish one final pane, and then I'll post the configs.

Everything you need to "construct" your model is conveniently located in the "construct" panel. When you want to setup your VMaps (UV, Weight, etc..) you switch to the "Mapping" panel.

Anyways, just a much more logical flow to things without having to switch to several different (yet similarly named) panels. Some tools are available in all panels (ie: Selection, Grouping, Transform & Sculpting tools), they're always in the same place when you need them.

I don't know, maybe you'll find them useful, maybe not, but I setup a similar config with every new release of Lightwave as it just makes more sense to me. So I decided to make a 'permanent' starting point - that can be tweaked, instead of starting from scratch all the time.

okay...back to work...

lunarcamel
08-17-2004, 02:57 PM
This better be worth the wait :P

harlan
08-17-2004, 03:01 PM
hehehe...

the Layout improvements are definitely worth the wait - as they feature some custom scripts, etc...

the modeler improvements are just nice. ;)

lunarcamel
08-17-2004, 03:06 PM
I spend so much time customizing my work space because the defaults are just poorly layed out - in my opinion - so anytime I see someone elses config I get all excited ;)

agrippa
08-24-2004, 09:34 AM
Boy, I guess the nights are long there in the Ninth Circle, Harlan...
You're just a workflow tease, that's what you are! BWAHHAHAHAHAHAHA!

Agrippa

UnCommonGrafx
08-24-2004, 09:40 AM
Hey Harlan,
Share it with us, buddy!!!

How'd the "Meet and Negotiate" go?

Reed
08-24-2004, 11:51 AM
Just read the entire thread...

I'm really excited to see what you've done for modeler:D

KEEP GOING!!

Nemoid
08-24-2004, 02:23 PM
really curious great that u have quite finished. have u some screenshot to share with us ? :D

lunarcamel
08-24-2004, 04:11 PM
harlan wrote:

Well, I probably shouldn't post this as everytime I make something and then post the info before I finish it takes me an extra million years to complete...

He means it too! ;)

I can't complain though because I do the same thing. I'm just anxious to see some workflow enhancements - it pains me to use LW8.

Sastira
08-27-2004, 04:08 AM
*Not so subtle bump*

:D

archiea
08-27-2004, 02:13 PM
Wheeee...look at me...I'm conversing with myself. La la la la

Sorry, its been busy...

How about some set standards of screen rez...

1024x768 (for laptop users)

1280x1024 (standard for most people)

1600x1200 (for someof us size queens)

I hope this isn;t too excessive... But having these as minimums would appease a wide variety of users...

Thanks again for your efforts on the mac front expecially

meatycheesyboy
08-27-2004, 03:48 PM
Sorry, its been busy...

How about some set standards of screen rez...

1024x768 (for laptop users)

1280x1024 (standard for most people)

1600x1200 (for someof us size queens)

I hope this isn;t too excessive... But having these as minimums would appease a wide variety of users...

Thanks again for your efforts on the mac front expecially

Don't forget 1280*960 for us correct aspect rario queens.

harlan
08-27-2004, 05:10 PM
sheeeeit...I got swamped for a minute there.

The configs work just fine on anything from 768 on up - theoretically anyways.

So...how do you post these suckas here?

harlan
08-27-2004, 05:11 PM
Doh...hey Robert Wilson!!! What's hapnin?

Sorry it took so long to reply.

Sastira
09-07-2004, 03:11 AM
*bump*

I refuse to let this thread die out! :)

How's it coming along, Harlan?

Sastira
09-16-2004, 07:30 PM
*bump*

Anyone sick of me yet? :)

Terrificfool
09-16-2004, 07:46 PM
This sounds like its worth a look, although I prefer the Lightwave layout to Maya's(oh look, the cobra snake picture does something completely different than one would expect). I suppose as long as it keeps the text tool buttons instead of tiny pictures, I'm cool with it.

midosujisen
09-16-2004, 10:15 PM
Bump. Any news? Can we preorder? (joke) :)

midosujisen
09-20-2004, 11:40 PM
* Bump x 2. *

harlan
09-21-2004, 01:26 AM
Doh, I know. I'm sorry. The past two months have been a huge nightmare. My focus right now is getting back home to L.A. before the week is over, and then square away the finals for these enhancements.

I was actually ready to post them, but discovered a glitch in need of fixing.

midosujisen
09-22-2004, 08:16 AM
Thanks for the update. I hope you have time to follow through very soon. Many of us are still waiting for these!!!!

harlan
09-22-2004, 03:07 PM
Yeah, I will definitely get these out ASAP. My schedule currently consists of filming a music video on Friday here in Florida. Returning home to L.A. to complete the post and then finalize these scripts for ya.

faulknermano
09-22-2004, 09:21 PM
Yeah, I will definitely get these out ASAP. My schedule currently consists of filming a music video on Friday here in Florida. Returning home to L.A. to complete the post and then finalize these scripts for ya.


i see altruism is fine and well nowadays. :D

midosujisen
09-22-2004, 09:34 PM
i see altruism is fine and well nowadays. :D

I had to look up what altruism meant, but you're right. Can't wait to see what harlan has been hiding and scripting away.

JohnMarchant
10-01-2004, 09:34 AM
Hi Harlan whats happening, looking forward to playing with these puppies

Exper
10-01-2004, 09:45 AM
Me too! :D

faulknermano
10-02-2004, 03:28 AM
pressure! pressure! :D

midosujisen
10-02-2004, 06:28 AM
I think he's too involved with his new package, "3DS Dos version, not Max" because it suits his needs better than Lightwave's current 2004 implementation. I'm also hoping peer pressure comes alive so these improvements get posted. :) It almost feels like an early 2003 Lightwave pre-order...the waiting is killing me.

Hopefully Harlan can send a sneak peek to Andrew Cross, as he says things are going to change! Can't wait...and waiting!

GCL
10-06-2004, 08:57 AM
At least some picture samples to wet our hunger !

:confused:

P Jespersen
10-06-2004, 11:15 AM
I'm interested already!
Let's see um! :D

Hypershade
10-06-2004, 04:13 PM
IS this the same harlan that can list 20 fully documented tools lw is missing :D

Nemoid
10-07-2004, 01:03 AM
Hey Harlan hope that your recent anger toward Lw allow u to complete these tools however.

P.S. honestly : u are making us wait like Nt itself is doing!! no good!!!! :D


seriously : take your time, but complete the **** job. we are so curious. :)

GCL
10-10-2004, 07:12 AM
Just to break the impasse - little titbit of humor here during the wait...

mattclary
10-11-2004, 05:44 AM
D*mn it, Jim! I'm a doctor, not a cartoonist! ;)

JohnMarchant
10-11-2004, 07:30 AM
Hey Harlan where are you dude. If you have no more interest in this could you let one of us continue with it or release "as is" please. Really interested in what you have come up with as are many else judgeing by this thread,

Thanks Mate, John

;) ;) ;) ;) ;)

private
10-16-2004, 09:46 PM
Bump. Bump.

jeremyhardin
10-17-2004, 07:52 AM
3 pages of "So...what's going on with these improvements?" and nothing shown makes me doubtful.

A Mejias
10-20-2004, 08:51 AM
1024x768...

faulknermano
10-21-2004, 07:23 AM
3 pages of "So...what's going on with these improvements?" and nothing shown makes me doubtful.

now you know why newtek doesnt give out what they're working on. :D

jeremyhardin
10-21-2004, 07:38 AM
now you know why newtek doesnt give out what they're working on. :D

indeed. newtek (and this thread) inspired me to finish iDof before releasing any publicity about it.

GCL
10-21-2004, 08:05 AM
indeed. newtek (and this thread) inspired me to finish iDof before releasing any publicity about it.

Will your website reflect the update for iDof ? Glad to see it will be made available soon.

private
10-21-2004, 08:38 AM
From his profile, Harlan's last activity was: Last Activity: 09-30-2004 03:18 PM

Hopefully he can finally put a fork in this thread and say it's done, or drop by and say that he's still working on it. If it's the latter, then just rince and repeat. :cool:

Exper
10-21-2004, 12:48 PM
Maybe Harlan's guts are still all upside-down (just like mine) thinking about the last argy-bargy! :D

midosujisen
10-28-2004, 10:13 PM
Bump again.

Triple G
10-28-2004, 11:05 PM
Yeesh....I can't believe this thread is still going on....

I think we all need to just make our own configs and get back to work... :cool:

TheDevil
10-29-2004, 04:18 AM
Strange that he has not been posting for awhile as he was a frequent poster. I believe a couple of users who have been troll posting under a different username have got their IP numbers banned in recent weeks. He could have been one of them as he did have strong views. Just a thought, but I am probably totally wrong and he has been very busy working (he did say he was working hard).

GCL
10-29-2004, 08:39 AM
He still has an outlet on other boards to pass on his " improvements ". It's one of the threads that I keep an eye on and hope to see something. A screenshoot or two would go a looong way keeping us advised. It's also possible that it may be vaporware or close to it. I hope not, I would like to see this radical improvement.

:confused:

private
12-09-2004, 01:31 AM
Beating a dead horse....

faulknermano
12-09-2004, 07:35 AM
well, if you guys want to keep on bumping the thread why not suggest workflow improvements yourselves?

just for curiousity the following is what i picked up from harlan's posts earlier on the thread:


However there are a few cool thingies - like "Volumetric Primitives" so to speak. Click Create>Volume Primitives>Cube - and A Null is added to the scene with Voumetric parameters applied to it. Blah Blah, nothing fancy, but it gave me something to do this week.


Plus there's some additional scripts I've been building included which for example will attach a Soft Body to an object with a single click and pull up that item's Soft Body panel for editing. In other words, you click Create Soft Body, and LW will apply the SoftFX plugin to the selected item, followed by bringing up the SoftFX panel, and you're ready to tweak - then calculate the simulation by clicking the button directly on LW's interface (not on the Item Properties panel). So no need to d!ck around with the Item Properties panel at all. There's also scripts for "Cam and Aim", & "Cam, Aim, and Up" - blah blah blah, a bunch of other stuff.


You want to bring up the expression editor? Simply click Expression Editor. No need to bring up the Master Plugins Panel, Add Expressoin Editor, and Double Click to Open. - you just make one click.


The concept is, if you like your windows arranged a certain way when you're animating and then a different way when you're surfacing (or whatever) then you can pull up the window manager and just click between the various layouts (which you define initially


maybe someone could execute these scripts. i might, when/if i have the time. also, maybe making suggestions workflow improvements *that are possible to execute in lscript*, similar to the ones above. it surely would be a more productive thread. you get only as much as you put in it.

TexasRiguez
01-21-2005, 08:24 AM
Is it over! Did i miss it? are the configs and seedpad setup posted? did the world just stop in October...Are we invaded...I go to work and the thread dies..Harlan, where are you? It's over, all over......Ya snozze, ya louze...

GCL
05-24-2005, 09:44 AM
Is this indeed a dead duck or have I missed the download or what ?

:confused:

coremi
05-24-2005, 09:53 AM
i think harlan start using another software and forget about us :D.

blabberlicious
05-24-2005, 10:43 AM
Mystery solved.

I tracked down the plug-in!

It's HERE (http://www.castleofspirits.com/nessie.html)

Just to the left of the castle....or perhaps....

harlan
05-24-2005, 11:06 AM
lol...

wow, this post rose from the dead. While those workflow improvements do still exist on one of the systems over here; due to a work related issue and an unresolved problem with an lscript, I was never able to finish them.

Yeah yeah, I'm a prick, I know. ;)


I'll see what I can do... if I can dig 'em up, I'll post them and you guys can do what you will with them - maybe someone can fix the one script. Overall they worked, there was just a couple minor problems.

private
06-23-2005, 03:00 AM
Bump again. Harlan?

iaef
06-23-2005, 11:00 AM
laptop: 1920x1200
TV: 720x512 NTSC <-- HDTV ready!!


PS: let's hope we can see the tip of this and help on creating on the foundation he has layed.

private
09-14-2006, 10:15 PM
I'll see what I can do... if I can dig 'em up, I'll post them and you guys can do what you will with them - maybe someone can fix the one script. Overall they worked, there was just a couple minor problems.

So, what's going on with these? :cursin: :devil:

prospector
09-14-2006, 11:17 PM
Vaporware I guess

all went up in a puff of smoke

Bog
09-15-2006, 04:48 AM
If we're still polling resolutions:

2560x1024 (2x1280x1024) PC desktop
1440x900 Laptop

zapper1998
09-15-2006, 05:28 AM
cool can't wait
1600x1200 res

kmaas
09-15-2006, 06:40 AM
PC Laptop 1920x1200

:offtopic:
Where in the world did you get a laptop with that kind of resolution!?

Bog
09-15-2006, 07:42 AM
Where in the world did you get a laptop with that kind of resolution!?

I have an old Toshiba Satellite P10-804 with that res panel.

Funniest thing in the world getting AmigaInABox running on that so I had Workbench 3.2 at that res :D

*snigger*

RudySchneider
09-15-2006, 02:47 PM
Where in the world did you get a laptop with that kind of resolution!?

Dell Inspiron comes with 1920x1200, too! The screen is just big enough to make full use of it, though "backseat drivers" always complain that things look too small. Suits me fine, though...

Bog
09-15-2006, 03:32 PM
Current Dell XPS laptops come with brutal panels. Can't remember the res offhand, but the dot-pitch is like a human hair.

Vehnaass

TheDAve
09-16-2006, 09:07 AM
:offtopic:
Where in the world did you get a laptop with that kind of resolution!?

Dell Precsion M60 - when I bought it 3yrs ago it was their top notch laptop (it was in the 'workstation' section.)

I think you can now get the same res screen, but physically bigger on many Dell laptops - I just wish I could justify buying a new one - mine is still going strong.

DAve

RudySchneider
09-16-2006, 01:10 PM
Well, there's always the excuse that you need a duo-core! If I wasn't still smarting a bit from laying out 3300 bucks on my Inspiron 8500 --- which is still humming along nicely, TYVM --- nearly five years ago, I'd like to get something with more horsepower.

T-Light
09-16-2006, 01:24 PM
Talking of laptops, mine has a 1680*1050, great machine, good battery running at 1.6x GHZ, love it to bits. Because the dualcores don't add any functionality to general LW usage (other than rendering) I'm not thinking of upgrading till the clockspeeds are substantially higher and DX10 is the new norm.

BUT, HP Compaq cancelled this model just after having rave reviews on it (difficulty aquiring certain parts from manufacturers) so I had to buy with a 9200 gfx card when I wanted the DX9 compatable 9600. Even knew at the time this was going to hurt (3yrs ago).

Soooo, Any one know if it's possible to upgrade from a 9200 ATI to a more modern card, are the hardware sockets compatable?, do laptops even have 'sockets'?

coremi
09-16-2006, 02:02 PM
new ones have PCI_x sockets, but old ones nope, u can't change the video card.

iconoclasty
09-16-2006, 02:53 PM
3200x1200

T-Light
09-16-2006, 06:46 PM
coremi -

new ones have PCI_x sockets, but old ones nope, u can't change the video card.
Cheers, I'd seen some modding sites on upgrading a year or two ago and while I'm happy to strip a PC without breaking a sweat I wouldn't be happy messing around under the hood of a laptop.

Thanks again.

Bladewing51
09-17-2006, 09:33 PM
1152 x 864 I like to be able to keep my Refresh Rate at 100 because of eye strain

Phil
09-18-2006, 01:42 AM
coremi -

Cheers, I'd seen some modding sites on upgrading a year or two ago and while I'm happy to strip a PC without breaking a sweat I wouldn't be happy messing around under the hood of a laptop.

Thanks again.

You'd be surprised! If you can find a service manual, it should be quite straightforward. I've only really seen them for Dell and IBM machines in the past. Having had to replace screens and cases on a number of my Thinkpads (they make great stackable render nodes as they get replaced), I'm now actually reluctant to buy a laptop without having a service manual available :) Whether HP has them, for free or for pay, by hook or by crook, I cannot say. Google might turn something up if there is nothing on the HP support site.

T-Light
09-18-2006, 07:27 AM
Cheers Phil, I'll have a look around :)

[EDIT] Found one, unfortunately it's in five parts and I've only been able to download 3 of them (Too many connections), Hopefully I'll get the rest later and we'll see what we shall see :thumbsup: