PDA

View Full Version : trees



cbreton49
06-17-2004, 01:15 PM
I am trying to build a forest atmosphere where I can crash a plane into the trees, so they really have to be 3D as is the plane. I have 5 different types of trees where it gives a good variety, but I then clone and I'm not sure this is a wise move, as the polygons are way too high, outrageous.
Does anyone know of a way to accomplish this effect without having an overkill of polygons?
Thanks in advance,
Carol

Dodgy
06-17-2004, 03:46 PM
HD instance from www.happy-digital.com.

Well worth the money!

cbreton49
06-17-2004, 04:25 PM
I would love to get the HD Instance, but I have a MAC and it's only compatable with windows. Thanks for the suggestion though! Any other avenue I can go?

Carol :confused:

Designer
06-17-2004, 07:54 PM
I think there is a tree plugin available?

Rory_L
06-17-2004, 10:14 PM
Meshpaint has a Mac version.

http://www.evs3d.com/

R

cbreton49
06-18-2004, 10:47 PM
thanks, I checked out Meshpaint, but really didn't see where the trees or a forest could be done from there, I felt it was more like grass and hair. I will pursue it a little more to see if it is what I am looking for.

meshmaster
06-29-2004, 10:21 AM
but there used to be a tree generator in the free downloads at 3d cafe...

cbreton49
06-29-2004, 11:22 AM
thanks meshmaster, I went there and found a free tree generator and I will try it. If it works it sure will save my butt!! thanks again.

cbreton49
06-29-2004, 02:31 PM
I just got the go ahead to purchase a program that will generate the trees I need, but I don't know what I am looking for! A plug in? Compatable with LW7.5, for MAC and PC - that will create a forest like atmosphere with not so many poly's!!
Can anyone advise?
thanks, Carol

pdrake
06-29-2004, 02:58 PM
try tree, from onyx software.

http://www.onyxtree.com/

cbreton49
06-29-2004, 03:26 PM
Thanks will check it out! It is compatable with LW right?

cbreton49
06-29-2004, 03:27 PM
Sorry, I see it is compatable I guess what I meant is, is it a plug in or do I import the model into LW that way? And, are there less poly's? I will check it out.
thanks again