PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on trying to get started

Dan Measel
06-14-2004, 09:23 AM
I am considering trying to learn 3d animation for the enhancement of video projects I work on and have been searching for the right program to get. I was considering lightwave. I have zero experience in computer animation, and as this is purely going to be a hobby I do not have time to go to a university or other program to receive formal training. So, my question is whether this program is something that can be learned via online tutorials or DVDs, etc over a few months (obviously realizing that more advanced animations will require significant time and experience). Or is that just not a practical approach to 3D animation?

lesterfoster
06-15-2004, 07:06 AM
Originally posted by Dan Measel
I am considering trying to learn 3d animation for the enhancement of video projects I work on and have been searching for the right program to get

Look for tutorials first. Newtek has lots on the web
http://www.newtek.com/products/lightwave/tutorials/index.html
http://www.newtek.com/products/lightwave/tutorials/videos/index.html

And what are others using

www.newtek.com/products/lightwave/product/projects_list.html (http://www.newtek.com/products/lightwave/product/projects_list.html)

Check to see if your computer can run the software. And get the demos of the software.

FONGOOL
06-15-2004, 09:54 AM
I'd hazard a guess that there are MANY people on these boards who are doing or have done exactly what you're talking about!:D

Between the massive wealth of online tutorials, several forums just like this one and all the available books and cd's, yeah I think you can learn LW pretty readily without going to school for it.