PDA

View Full Version : Texture with Alpha embeded?



Lalin
06-12-2004, 11:20 AM
Hi,

Is there a way I can use a texture with it's alpha channel to do texture blending?

I want to use a texture on top of another one, but so far I can only do it as long as the alpha channel is a separate texture.
For example, I have a base texture (layer 1), then I have to put the seconde texture I want to blend with with the base texture (layer 2), then I have to add an additional (3rd one) texture that is a B/W texture for the alpha (layer 3) so that the second texture (in layer 2) be selectively applied on top of the base texture like a "decal".

Now, I would like to use the alpha channel in the second texture (layer 2) to do the "decal" effect, without the need of a 3rd texture (alpha texture = layer 3)

Please, let me know if you need more information.

Thanks!
Lalin

toby
06-12-2004, 03:07 PM
You should be able to 'Enable' the alpha in the Image editor, then it will be applied automatically.

Lalin
06-12-2004, 04:40 PM
Toby,

You are the best!

Thanks a lot, that worked!

Alpha channels doesn't seem to work with BMPs.

Lalin