PDA

View Full Version : Not sure how to use the time-lapse feature in Skytracer2.



kassius
06-11-2004, 11:21 PM
I stopped using the skytracer 1 tutorial as soon as a found out about this time-lapse feature.

I assume that this can be used to create dusk-to-dawn in 10 secs etc?

and can anyone point me to a tutorial on this feature?

cheers

Lightwolf
06-12-2004, 07:52 AM
There should be a control in the motion plugin attached to the sun light (SunSpot), which allows you to accelerate the movement of it.

Cheers,
Mike

kassius
06-12-2004, 11:08 AM
Well I've opened up "SunSpot" and you can set the time of day etc. I'm not exactly sure what the method is in moving the sun? and i'm unsure as what the "time-lapse" does in SunSpot...

I'll try and change the time of day and add key frames to the different times... maybe thats the way to accomplish this?

Lightwolf
06-12-2004, 11:47 AM
Hi Kassius,
"Time-Lapse" is the control you want.
AFAIK, setting it to one will move the light in LW "real time", i.e. one second in LW on the timeline is one second of sun movement.
So, if you want the light to move the equivalent of one hour in one second, set time-laps to 3600 (60 seconds * 60 minutes).

The initial time and position are for frame 0 of the animation.

So, in the above example at 25fps, at frame 100 the sun would be in the position 4 hours after the position you set in the sun spot user interface.

Cheers,
Mike

kassius
06-12-2004, 09:13 PM
Thanks Mike!

Problemo Solved!

Lightwolf
06-14-2004, 02:32 AM
Originally posted by kassius
Thanks Mike!

Problemo Solved!
:D Good to read...

Cheers,
Mike