PDA

View Full Version : Some DP 1.42 MHz Bench Tests



Ari Danesh
03-25-2003, 09:29 PM
Some people were asking to post some benchmarks with the new DP 1.42 MHz G4s.
Here goes...please let's not get into a proc war here.

Mac OS X 10.2.4
2GB RAM
LW 7.5


Ray Trace Test: 91.9 seconds
Textures: 6.4 seconds
Radiosity Things: 4.2 seconds
Radiosity Ref. 40.5 seconds
Tracer Radiosity: 604.5 seconds
DOF 10.7 seconds
Skull_Head_Newest: 125.4 seconds

Ade
03-26-2003, 01:37 AM
Pentium4 3060 1 1024 512 Win XP 7.5 [572] Raytrace (threads: 2) 87

Pentium4 3060 1 1024 512 Win XP 7.5 [572] Textures (2) 4

Pentium4 3099 1 1024 512 Win XP 7.5 [572] DoF (1) 7


PowerPC G4 1250 2 2048 - Mac OSX 7.5 [572] Raytrace (8) 101


damn pc's...Wheres the bottleneck? or is it just mhz matters...
If we had a 3ghz g4 we could see. Xserve technology is pretty advance.

Darth Mole
03-26-2003, 02:02 AM
Thanks, Ari!

For comparison, here's the same benchmarks for my dual 800 (Apple's top-of-the-line less than 18 months ago...)

Ray Trace Test: 158.8 seconds
Textures: 9.8 seconds
Radiosity Things: 7.2 seconds
Radiosity Ref. 70.0 seconds
Tracer Radiosity: 1051.5 seconds
DOF 20.2 seconds

cremegg
03-26-2003, 03:07 AM
Considering thats a total of 2.84Ghz for the newest G4 I'd say thats pretty damn good and I dont see the argument for a bottleneck.

Thnx for the benchmarks Ari, nice to see some numbers :).

cremegg
03-26-2003, 03:11 AM
I only just noticed Darth Mole but some of your benchmarks are alot slower than my Dual 800Mhz. Tracer Radiosity in particular. Will have to try and get some comparitive numbers.

Darth Mole
03-26-2003, 04:56 AM
Sorry - Tracer Radiosity had Safari running in the background, which probably messsed it up. The others are pretty solid, though.

cremegg
03-26-2003, 06:30 AM
I'm actually managing to shave a few seconds of most of your times Darth Mole ;)

Will post the results when there all finished.

btw I've just finished a project and I'm bored :D .

Darth Mole
03-26-2003, 01:45 PM
Shave away! If you can let me know how you do it, that'd be useful.

I'm running 7.5 with 1.12GB RAM under X 10.2.4 and 4 threads.

paintboy
03-26-2003, 01:53 PM
hey Darthmole,wheres your segment limit set?
My Dp800/X.2.3/1.5gb/LW7.5 is set to 300mb
and pulls 155 0n RT.

Ade
03-26-2003, 04:27 PM
ow do u get that sprt of seg memory?
I goto camera properties and try in 300000 and it always goes as high as 20 meg a nd thats it.

I have 1.75 gigs of ram.

paintboy
03-26-2003, 05:22 PM
eerrmmm...i just typed it in?:)
was gonna post a screen shot to prove it but this damn thing will not accept an image grrr.... will try to see if i can post it in a new thread.?

paintboy
03-26-2003, 05:28 PM
OK BrAin gLitCh....

Ade
03-26-2003, 09:08 PM
Mine displayes in bytes , how can i change it to megs? hmm
No matter how much i enter it will only go as high as 20 megs (200000bytes)

Lynx3d
03-27-2003, 12:45 AM
In Bytes? Think LW 5.x wanted to know the number in Bytes...but not any later versions...

Otherwise try editing the LW3.cfg (i assume the Mac version has them too)

Mine says e.g.
DefaultSegmentMemory 256000000
That's 256MB (strange definition of MB... :D)

Darth Mole
03-27-2003, 01:25 AM
Segment memory is 300MB as well.

Maybe it's OS X 10.2.4?

cremegg
03-27-2003, 06:38 AM
LightWave 3D 7.5 (Build 572), Power Mac G4 Dual 800Mhz PPC7450, 1.5GB RAM, Mac OS X (10.2.4)

Threads: 4

Depth of Field: 19
Radiosity Reflective Things: 68
Raytrace: 155
Textures: 9
Variations: 293
Z Buffer Sort: 13

Threads: 8

Depth of Field: 18
Radiosity Reflective Things: 70
Raytrace: 154
Textures: 9
Tracer Radiosity: 921
Variations: 438
Z Buffer Sort: 13

Average of 3 Results per benchmark.

Take note, if you're rendering volumetrics (Variations) a setting of 4 threads may be beneficial.

I haven't included Tracer Radiosity (4 Threads) and Tracer No Radiosty results as they where far to irratic.

Ade
03-27-2003, 07:06 AM
Would any of these help with bench times?:

ATI97000 card from a 9000 card?
8 meg cache Western Digital HD?

cremegg
03-27-2003, 07:16 AM
Nope. Sorry Ade. The only things which specifically affect Rendering time, as i understand it, are CPU speed, CPU Caches (Size, speed and physical location) and the speed of your RAM and the speed in which the CPU can obtain the data from RAM, the Bus speed.