PDA

View Full Version : 3d Schools

marbla
06-03-2004, 01:06 PM
Hello,

I've been working with lightwave for over two years now. I just graduated high school; now I'm looking to further my education in the field of computer arts/3d modelling. Well, I've been looking at a few schools where I might be able to go - mostly art schools. Here's what I've come up with.

The San Francisco Academy of Art University - www.academyart.edu

and

The Ringling School of Art and Design - www.rsad.edu

If anyone here knows of any more schools, preferably in illinois, that would be lovely.

Oh, btw, I really don't mind if they teach programs other than lightwave ;)

jimmyboy1
06-04-2004, 01:34 PM
I went to Ringling and here is my 2 cents:

Pros:

great equipment, some amazing teachers, great student/teacher ratio (i've heard the opposite about Acad of Art), they teach Maya (probably most used in industry), very selective on admission (also the opposite of Acad of Art), some major companies recruit exclusively at Ringling, Sarasota is beautiful (I didn't want to leave), graduates usually get higher placing jobs than other schools (some friends are animation supervisors within 6 months of graduation), you will live/eat/sleep/breathe art at Ringling, lots of figure drawing required, traditional animation classes required.

Cons:

some of the staff that influence your projects have no industry experience, students not given a lot of freedom to experiment, you won't get much sleep, very little if any money available for scholarships, student's health and well-being NOT a consideration when meeting deadlines (a common "joke" in the labs when we hadn't slept in days and wondering why we were doing this was "we are just animating, it's not like we're working on a cure for cancer!"), there's no work in Sarasota after graduation - you'll have to leave whether you want to or not.