PDA

View Full Version : weight problem



novalism
05-28-2004, 02:59 AM
http://www.suture.net/tutorials/modeling/img/053.jpg

trying to get this silly lil thing working ...
but i'm tierd trying .. it always ends up the same

http://www.novalism.com/strange.jpg

I've read closly I dont understand ... how comes some edges are bad? The ones that go Outsite I can drag those pointsside = ok .
But the ones inside If i drag those outside the gab doesnt close :s

advice?

conehead
05-28-2004, 04:34 AM
i think you need to tripple the polygon.

evenflcw
05-28-2004, 05:27 AM
That doesn't look right. Are you sure you're really weighting the "SubPatch_Weight" map and not something else? Cause the corners of the subDs and the poly shape should obviously meet up if weight it at 100% for that particular map. If your weighting another map, nothing will happen to the SubDs. Anyhow the way you have it now it still won't look good, the polyshapes edges must not extend beyond the SubD shape. Either add more segments, bevel in more or just adjust the points that are extending beyond the SubD shape. The last bevel you've made acts as a buffert. You can drag those inner points around and place them anywhere you want. As long as the polygon/ngon stays planar the effect and shape will remain intact.

novalism
05-28-2004, 08:28 AM
ok i tried yet another time .. with 1 more bevel still aint working ....

I dont have extending polygons anymore but there are gabs ... just like the older versions.

I select the upper and bottem (multi-sided polygon) and than slecht W and than subpatch weight... thats all ...
If i press n ... i see nothing ... I cant give any value

So i tried
If tried new -> weight .... giving it 100% but it didnt work either strangely enough
How can I screw up 4 steps :confused:

See:
http://www.novalism.com/wa1.jpg
http://www.novalism.com/wa2.jpg

Weetos
05-28-2004, 08:40 AM
humm... don't know... have you tried to merge (m key) the points before converting the object to subpatch?

novalism
05-28-2004, 08:55 AM
i did try ..

but i beveled inside with no shift .. so they ARE attached theoreticly right?
But didnt work either ...

I wil try to download a recording program so I can show you guys :(

evenflcw
05-28-2004, 09:07 AM
Sorry, but you are screwing up the steps. :)

If you select "(new)" you're naturally creating a brand new weightmap. Weightmaps in LW can be used for various things, not only weighting subpatches. Whatever map you're creating is acctually destined for something else. To weight subpatches you have to use the existing "SubPatch Weight"! So select it, then use Map>Set Map Value and push it to 100%.

novalism
05-28-2004, 01:47 PM
:rolleyes: damn :D got it now tnx for the further knoladge bout weightmaps evenflcw