PDA

View Full Version : Modeling with weightmaps



phye
05-26-2004, 02:28 PM
Hi, I've recently started a model for a car with which I am using subpatching, and subpatchweight adjusting.

My question is:

In modeler it seems to work very well I can really get hard corners on a subpatch surface but once I throw the object to the layout this effect is really reduced?? I have adjusted the subpatch levels in layout to the same number as in modeler, level 6. But still I see that it doesn't look the same as in modeler.

I was using the technique mainly because i didn't want to add extra poly's with bandsaw to add more geometry.

Is there maybe an option, setting or a way in wich you can control the influence of the subpatchweight Vmap in layout??

thanx, atleast for taking the time to read this.

iandavis
06-02-2004, 09:31 PM
you need to freeze the object and triple it before bringing it into Layout. Though it's technically ok to render it in layout as a sub-d, I have never gotten the results I want. I usually use level 5 for division, but I make my polys 2x more detailed then most car modellers.

you can use wieght mapping... but the problem is this.. Imagine a curved edge, like a hood. to make a nice sharp seam you adjust all the points along this edge... yes, now it's nice and sharp, but it works in both dimensions and now you can clearly see the flat polygons along the edge of the hood. In my experience adding the extra line of polygons close to the curve you wish to control is the ONLY way to effect only one axis of sharpness while retaining a nice smooth curve on the other axis.

good luck

iandavis.ws

phye
06-03-2004, 03:23 AM
Thx for your reply. Too make things a little easier I will post some modeler shots and layout/render shots.

I get your point about freezing the object, but I redid this car in sub-patch just because I didn't like UVing on the trippled poly's and furthermore, the model gets more heavy after freezing it.

MODELER WEIGHT

http://www2.hku.nl/~ralph4/WIP/modelerweight.gif

MODELER SMOOTH

http://www2.hku.nl/~ralph4/WIP/modelerSmooth.gif

LAYOUT

http://www2.hku.nl/~ralph4/WIP/layout.gif

RENDER (NO AA)

http://www2.hku.nl/~ralph4/WIP/render.gif

I get your point about freezing the object, but I redid this car in sub-patch just because I didn't like UVing on the trippled poly's and furthermore, the model gets more heavy after freezing it.

I think if I want to get it like in modeler, I have to either freeze it or add edges with bandsaw.

Oh and btw the subpatch levels in modeler are the same as in layout.

iandavis
06-03-2004, 12:05 PM
there is another thread here somewhere showing the rendering errors you get in Layout using an unfrozen sub-d model. Though technically you CAN render it and layout is SUPPOSED to triple it and render it like 3 point polys. I have had NOTHING but crap with that. Mysterious dark triangles, odd shadows, AND misbehaving curves (like yours).

point weights are great for flat surfaces, like the surface of doors. Really, wherever there isn't a need for one direction to be sharp and the other smooth.

good luck.

:)

Ian

phye
06-05-2004, 03:37 AM
thnx for the feedback I'll probably need to add geomtry. I had hoped to keep it a clean mesh but I guess it just isn'y possible.

However it will always be frustrating if you have a model that looks better in modeler then when rendered. Remains something my brain and logic cannot comprehend.