PDA

View Full Version : St. Simons Lighthouse (sorta)

reverie
05-25-2004, 04:17 PM
Hi,

I'm a Lightwave newbie, learning thru books and the challenges that the 3D gurus over at indeptharts.com come up with. This lighthouse was done for the latest challenge, in LW8. It ain't a masterpiece, but I think it's the best I've come up with yet. :)

It was modeled on the lighthouse at St. Simons Island, Georgia, but I made some changes in the name of artistic liberty. :D

Thanks,
Jan

reverie
05-25-2004, 04:19 PM
Here's the first version. I did the one above at the request of boulyabase, one of the aforementioned 3D gurus. :)

veljko
05-26-2004, 01:53 AM
personaly i like the botoom one more- the skytracer background did not add much to the image- If you decide to do the enviroment (which you did when added skytracer) then you must go all the way- otherwise you are better of just placing the object into a void space.
I want to say that with skytracer you must atleast add some sea to finish off the enviromet- A rock or something on which the lighthouse is standing on would be nice..
Otherwise just leave the object by itselfe on a black background-

hope this helps!
:)

reverie
05-26-2004, 04:38 AM
Thank you very much...yes, it does help. :) The skytracer environment was a compliance to a friend's request for a light-colored background. I liked the dark one because of the drama.

But I think the skytracer background is lacking also--it's just there. Doesn't add anything to the "story."

One problem I would like to solve...I could NOT get the lights to beam rays outward from the top, no matter what I did. And the glass in the top holes is almost totally transparent.

How do you get lights to beam obvious rays?

veljko
05-26-2004, 09:04 AM
You do this by activating the "volumetric lighting" option in the light properties panel.