PDA

View Full Version : How much does it cost?

Dark-Whisper
05-19-2004, 04:29 PM
Can anyone tell me what the going rate is for texturing, a fairly large model of a factory contains internal and external objects?Using simple image maps mainly.

I'm in the UK!

Dark-Whisper
05-19-2004, 06:57 PM
Untill now I have only had a part time interest in lightwave, but i've been asked if I would like to do the texturing for this model which will be used for a 3d walk around. The only thing is they asked me how much, instead of offering a price. As I have no commercial experience in modelling I would like some sort of benchmark figure.

This is fairly urgent as it needs to be finished by the end of the month.

murdoch
05-19-2004, 08:06 PM
not knowing what commercial experience you have the following is based on having none or very little.

you could try asking if they have a budget, they may surprise or disappoint you. pricing jobs can depend alot on what you feel happy with, especially if you're not familiar with the marketplace you're working in. how much do you know about them? are they reputable? do you have any idea what the job is worth to them?

you can price yourself out at an hourly or daily rate. for example, say 100 a day, how long do you think the work will take? if it's 2 weeks (10 working days) would you be happy with 1000?

here's the important bit - get a purchase order (a piece of letterheaded paper with a reference number that states how much you will be payed), if they're serious they'll know about and work with these. try to get part payment up front with final payment on delivery. i know this sounds daunting but you have to cover yourself unless you're comfortable with and able to wait months for payment. sort your terms out before you start the job and don't forget about amendments, some are acceptable, alot may incur more costs, especially if they've approved work in progress and then changed their minds.

good luck

LAV
05-20-2004, 02:40 AM
Hello!