PDA

View Full Version : Lightdome and fake GI



Oddgit
05-18-2004, 12:06 AM
i know how to set it up for Lightwave and i love the results, but is there a fast way to do it for Maya, yes i know that this is a LW forum but everyone here is so much more helpful then in the Alias forum.
i have tried playing with image based lighting but it takes for ever to render.

Hervé
05-18-2004, 01:12 AM
Maya...? what is that..?:confused: Is it a new LW plugin for faking radiosity in LW ?:cool:

wacom
05-18-2004, 06:05 AM
It isn't fake or free, but it is fast...

FPRIME!

Background radiosity is soooo fast- your GI worries have been answered by Steve Worley...

Oddgit
05-18-2004, 02:25 PM
ok it was a Maya question, i was wondering if there was a way to do the Lightdome thing in Maya like you can do in LightWave. and i own F-Prime, i bought it the day it was released. I even have LightWave 8

Rich
05-18-2004, 05:09 PM
I havn't used Maya in a long time but if you use Mental Ray for rendering, setup the dome the same way you would in Lightwave and turn on I think it's called Final Gathering. It will then use the Luminosity of the dome as the light source.

vbk!!!
05-19-2004, 06:43 AM
look for a mel script called Gi joe.

i don't where yopu can find it now

try to ask to maya users