PDA

View Full Version : Motion Vectors output in LW for Reelsmart Motionblur 3



Red_Oddity
05-17-2004, 02:55 PM
Yes, i've sort of done it (it was very simple afterall)
This little plugin calculates normalized motion vectors and outputs those to the
Red and Green channels of your image, this image can then be saved and used in
Combustion/AfterFX/Digital Fusion with the Reelsmart Motionblur filter to create
a post motionblur.
For more info on this:
http://www.alamaison.fr/3d/lm_2DMV/lm_2DMV.htm
http://www.revisionfx.com/mblur.htm

I'll write a short tutorial on how this works and how the plugin works further
but right now i'm going home (it's 11 o'clock over here)

Cheers mates...

Download version 0.1 here:
http://www.houseofsecrets.nl/downloads/motionvectors.zip

Red_Oddity
05-17-2004, 04:06 PM
Doh, seems like i posted it in the wrong forum...
Would some moderator be so kind to move this thread to the LW - Third Party fourm...my bad...it was getting late...

Triple G
05-17-2004, 08:15 PM
I'd be interested in hearing some more about this, Red...I've been contemplating upgrading from RSMB v2 to v3. Can this be done in v2, or does one need v3 to take advantage of this technique?

Red_Oddity
05-18-2004, 04:28 AM
Well, i haven't updated aswell, just trying to get this going on the demo version (which adds a lot of new options) before i update...

Red_Oddity
05-18-2004, 11:18 AM
And an update (saving is now possible)

http://www.houseofsecrets.nl/downloads/motionvectors_v0.2.zip

Triple G
05-18-2004, 01:46 PM
Excellent! Thanks, Red....I'll have to give it a whirl when I get a chance. :)

Para
05-19-2004, 12:24 AM
Interesting...was this some personal project or didn't you know that for example Asa_buffersaver (http://www.lw-fin.org/plugins/asa/bs/plug_bs.html) does this for you?

Red_Oddity
05-19-2004, 05:19 AM
I know, ASA buffer safer does output the MotionX and MotionY buffers (these can be called at anytime after any 'Realistic Render Mode' render (even from within LScript, which this plugin uses)...
BUT...ReelSmartMotion Blur doesn't use the MotionX and MotionY data as it is directly output by LW or ASA (even if you set the output to something like XYBA)
Why not? i hear you ask, because the motion buffers LW outputs are not normalized, RSMB needs normailzed motion vectors (ranging from 0 - 1, where 0 - 0.5 is motion in the negative direction and 0.5 -1 is motion in the positive direction)
Normalization is also needed to keep a consistent value for your maximum motionblur displacement, if you don't do this your MB will vary over time in your animation or it will clip maximum values (for a still this isn't really a problem, but it still needs to be normalized)

I hope this clears it up a bit...

Here's 2 pictures to make it seems a bit more clear

Red_Oddity
05-19-2004, 05:20 AM
Detail:

Red_Oddity
05-19-2004, 05:30 AM
And here's one with a single render pass to show off how well this plugin actually works...

You don't want to jank up the MB too far or errors will occur, also, i strongly advise to render out 16bit instead of 8bit to get a far higher resolution for the plugin to work with...

Para
05-19-2004, 05:43 AM
Asa_buffersaver does normalize motion vectors, just check "Normalize" from Advanced options (seen in the screenshot at the bottom of the page). Don't get me wrong though, I'm not saying your effort is pointless or anything :)

PS. I got an awful déjà vu while writing this post... :confused:

Red_Oddity
05-19-2004, 06:09 AM
<edit edit snip snip>

I tried ASA Buffer Saver, and it's still one of the best savers around...but unfortunatly not for RSMB (or i'm doing something wrong)...
ASA saves (when turning on normalize) each normalized image according to the max and min MV values found in that frame, it is possible to sort of normalize all values for all frames manually using the Motion Scale (without ASA's auto nomalize), but, this scales using percentages...quite useless then as MV can vary greatly over time...
But, even if all this was fixed there's still one problem, the entire MV data needs to be remapped to 0 to 1 where 0.5 is the value for a pixel that doesn't move (0 - 0.5 is pixel moving in the negative, 0.5 -1 is a pixel that moves in the positive)

It is possible however to make all this work with just ASA though.
You need to save out all motion data though, motion possitive and motion negative, you then need to manually normalize and remap these using levels in AFX/C3/DF or whatnot...a lot of work, but possible though...

Red_Oddity
05-19-2004, 10:32 AM
And another update...changes in this version can be found in the html document that comes with the plugin...

http://www.houseofsecrets.nl/downloads/motionvectors_v0.3.zip

marc
05-20-2004, 07:03 AM
Awesome! Thanks a lot. This will be a real timesaver!

Marc

Red_Oddity
12-24-2004, 03:15 AM
I see i haven't mentioned version 0.4 on this forum yet...not to mention the all newer new new version 0.5.04 (sort of a beta, but seems to work the way i want it to)

Manuals are very very draft and and don't describe everything nor do they mention other methods of using the plugin or applying the RSMB data...

If i have some time left, which probably will be next year (tight deadlines and all)

Anyway, download it here :

http://www.houseofsecrets.nl/downloads/plugins.htm