PDA

View Full Version : I Got LW8 2day should it go over 7.5 ???



andy gee
05-17-2004, 10:46 AM
Hi 2 all

just a quick question because i should be at work !!

I got Lightwave 8 upgrade through the post today.

I put the installation CD in and followed it.

I registered it and am currently awaiting the liscene code.

The question that i want to ask is : Lightwave 8 overwrite

Lightwave 7.5 which i had before installing V8 Because at

the moment i now have 2 versions of lightwave 7.5 and 8

on my PC is this write or have i made a blunder somewhere??

Also i can open my 7.5 scenes in V8 loading objects is fine

though any ideas anybody ???

Thanks Andy gee

mkiii
05-17-2004, 12:13 PM
No. LW8 by default installs in a separate folder & has differently named config files that go in the same place as the 7.5 ones, so you can have both versions running side by side & have no conflicts.

You will also be able to load LW8 objects & scenes into LW 7.5.

Obviously some newer scenes will use plugins that 7.5 doesn't have, but they will probably still load ok.

iandavis
06-02-2004, 10:11 PM
this is true, it now (sensibly) installs LW into the programs folder.

Also, LW8 has some cool stuff, but it also has some bugs. You will want to keep LW7.5 around just in case. My modeler refuses to work. 7.5 works fine... 8.0 just quits when it tries to load an object.

One can never tell with new software.

Iandavis.ws