PDA

View Full Version : What happened to Lightwave ?

tasmanian
05-15-2004, 10:42 AM
I have been teaching computer animation for some 15 years now.
The program of choice has always been Lightwave.

I'm used to having students that wonder why we use Lightwave and not Max or Maya etc... These are the ethernal discussions of 3D.

Lately though I'm confronted more and more with (potential) students that have never even heard of Lightwave.

I wonder what's going on. Can anyone shed some light on this ?

PS: Lightwave will stay the program of choice as long as it fits our needs :)

Chris Partridge
05-15-2004, 11:27 AM
Perhaps your new students are just ignorant. If they haven't heard of Lightwave then surely they need to get a grip on the industry basics.

meshmaster
05-15-2004, 01:59 PM
you are the teacher.. so show them the reason you use lightwave... show them a comparison list of why lightwave gives more bang for the buck when compared to xsi, maya, 3ds max, etc.

prospector
05-15-2004, 05:49 PM
Perhaps they're not HIP and just reading HYPE?

Maby show them a list of what comes 'In the box' as compared to a list of what comes 'With more cost' for the others.

Maby they need to get online and see who has the BEST and MOST FRIENDLY help forum, the WORLD OVER:D

tudor
05-15-2004, 06:24 PM
Prospector: WORD!!!

Do not let the propaganda machine of alias fool you!!

/edit

I think I just converted a guy from maya/max to start modeling in LW.. He is already impressed by the ease of rendering in LW without having to check n^10 number of check boxes..

edit/

tasmanian
05-16-2004, 05:02 AM
Thanx for the replies.

I usually do manage to convince students of the qualities of Lightwave, I can say that just about every final project made in our school in the last 10 years was made with Lightwave, only one dissident insisted on using Max instead, (his project was not better or worse than the others).