PDA

View Full Version : Motion Designer grass test



HowardM
03-23-2003, 02:26 PM
http://www.3dink.com/grass.gif

Quick test using Powel Olas' Grass Generator and MD!
..gonna have to play with Spring and Hold to get the grass to pop back up!

...Ive got a Q! Have all the pros been using MD without telling anyone or have I just not seen anything about these great uses for MD?! :)

if you havent check these out, please do!
http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&postid=480528#post480528

hrgiger
03-23-2003, 02:32 PM
Another cool use. Even if the grass wasn't to pop back up, it would be good for things heavy enough to flatten the grass.

HowardM
03-23-2003, 04:26 PM
http://www.3dink.com/grass2.gif http://www.3dink.com/grass2a.gif

pretty cool eh? not perfect, but good for alot of applications...
and with more testing, and observation of grass on my lawn being rolled over,:) I bet realism can be acheived...

http://www.3dink.com/grass2b.gif
this third one is using Powel Olas Grass Gen...the last 2 were my own subd quick grass, because I was running into issues with MD slowing down too much, so I thought it was his grass.
I eventually got his grass to work fine! So use his plugins cuz they rock!
:)

by the way, anyone up for Putt-Putt?! :)

Skonk
03-23-2003, 05:32 PM
Thats cool :) really getting into this MD stuff arn't ya?

I'll have to give it a try myself cos it looks like a very usefull technique.

James..

HowardM
03-23-2003, 05:36 PM
heh, yeah, Im going nuts on MD!
Im actually pretty psyched considering I couldnt get MD to do crap the past 2 years and all of a sudden its the coolest thing!
:)

anyone know if FXbreak is basically going to replace it, or is FXB just a new PFX?
what the 411?

stoehr
03-23-2003, 05:39 PM
FXBreak isn't a replacement (as far as I know), but a more versatile way of making Hard body dynamics. Where as MD is supposed to be Soft Body only, yet many people have tweaked it to be hard body. Just another great tool to use. I have many of D-Storm's plugin, but not FXBreak (not yet anyway).

HowardM
03-23-2003, 06:17 PM
by the way anyone know if MD and Saslite can be used this way?
im trying to make a field and the polycount gets too high!

John Fornasar
03-23-2003, 09:08 PM
Nice work Howard, looks like you've got it down.

Now you have to write it up - where's the tutorial ;)

Celshader
03-24-2003, 06:37 PM
Originally posted by HowardM
by the way anyone know if MD and Saslite can be used this way?
im trying to make a field and the polycount gets too high!

Good question. I've used MD_Metaplug on Saslite guides with no problem, so maybe you could use MD on Saslite for grass. Here's some of the results I've gotten with MD and Saslite:
http://www.celshader.com/gallery/md/

HowardM
03-24-2003, 11:49 PM
Thanks Jen!
Love the curly hair animation!

Yep, Saslite does work!
http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=2344