PDA

View Full Version : Newbie UV question

art
05-12-2004, 02:48 PM
I just received UVEditPro from newtek. I played with it for a moment. I have very little experience with UV mapping, but I thought I understood the basic idea of it. I guess I do not. Is this what many of you refer to as "UV distortions"? I did a simple test: a plain quad with a checkboard mapped onto it. It is being mapped in a very unexpected (to me at least) way.

Any insights?

mkiii
05-12-2004, 05:35 PM
Photoshop doesn't use triangles to create a bitmap. It simply distorts each pixel to make it fit. You will have noticed that the distortion is either side of a diagonal line.

You should try to avoid distorting a uv map too much. To do so doesn't really make much sense. If you have a texture that needs distorting - distort the texture - as you have found, it is more accurate.

If you really do have to, then consider subdividing the mesh a few times. This will more or less eliminate the distortion.

I think the distortions that you have been hearing about are more likely to concern the way the UV mapping of a Sub-Division object doesn't match the polygons that are uv mapped, because only the undivided cage is used in the UV map, not the final mesh.

art
05-12-2004, 06:29 PM
Thanks for the reply. I noticed the distorions along the diagonals before and thought I was doing something wrong.

I will keep your tips in mind (image stretching and subdividing)

Now Im off to learn more UV mapping :)

jin choung
05-12-2004, 06:34 PM
right,

it has to do with the TRIANGLES.

and no, this is NOT what most of us are usually talking about when we're talking about uv distortion and SDS.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a programmer explained this to me once... let me try to remember:

in lw or in your imagination, turn that distorted QUAD into two triangles.

got it?

notice that the AREA of one of the triangles is MUCH larger now than the other.