PDA

View Full Version : bone & weight map problem

bluehand
05-12-2004, 01:26 PM
I'm very new to rigging (as you can see by attached image)
having some distortion problems,
when I move this spine bone, why is the head getting all distorted and even pulling out from inside the helmet- the head even has it's own separate weight map?
Also, the belt is stretching way too much when I bend the spine.
Advice is GREATLY appreciated on this, as I'm in the dark on this.

thanks much in advance.
http://www.bluehandgraphics.com/AndyBoneProblem.jpg

IZZE
05-12-2004, 02:14 PM
you have two objects for the head? Head and Hat object? Sharing the same weight map, right? Using one bone for that map, right?

bluehand
05-12-2004, 02:36 PM
the head is a bunch of objects (head, helmet, earpieces, etc.)
they are all in the same layer, in fact, the entire model is in 1 layer in Modeler.
Yes, the weight map for the head is 1 weight map, it is for all the pieces basically above the shoulders.

http://www.bluehandgraphics.com/AndyHeadWeightMap.jpg

IZZE
05-12-2004, 02:54 PM
Deformations set to last?

bluehand
05-12-2004, 03:05 PM
yes, deformations set to last,
just double-checked to be sure.

IZZE
05-12-2004, 06:40 PM
share your scene and objects. let me check it out.

Dodgy
05-12-2004, 06:42 PM
Do they use the same fall off?

Often used to be the case if you didn't have at least a non-active bone in the object which was using 'bones from' another object, it's fall off would revert to ^16 or something upon scene re load. You had to add a non-active bone to make sure the fall off stayed to what you set it.

David Chao
07-14-2004, 02:42 AM
Can anyone help? I'm having the same problem. I can send you my scene and object. My object subdivision order is set to "last" and each bone has its own weight map but when I move a bone, it distorts/influences another area. Please help!

Thanks!!!

Dodgy
07-14-2004, 02:58 AM
Do you want to post me your object to see if I can figure it out?

David Chao