PDA

View Full Version : Memory help!!!!



lord_rms
03-23-2003, 10:56 AM
I have a p4 2.8 with 2 80 gig hard drive, 1 gig of ddr 400 and geforce 4 ti 4600

I need help setting up my memory. Can anybody help me please..
:confused:

hrgiger
03-23-2003, 11:51 AM
Do you mean allocating more memory to Lightwave for rendering?

If so, then just go under the camera properties panel and use the segment memory setting. It's default is 8MB but you want to set it much higher.

lord_rms
03-23-2003, 12:15 PM
I want to set up the virtual memory part . Paging files and registry size.

Lynx3d
03-23-2003, 12:43 PM
Hm, guess you will rarely need the page file, i suggest setting the min and max settings to the same size, this way it is a static file that doesn't get fragmented (i hope :D)

Mine is set to 1536-1536 (Windows set it to 768-1536, i have 1GB RAM too) but windows only "uses" ~200MB "just for fun" it seems.
Depends on what you do if you actually need a large page file...windows will warn you if it becomes too small and it creates a temporary additional (yea, i can make programs with memory leaks, hence i know that :D )

Registry...never changed that, mine is always ~15MB, never grew close to the 54MB limit Windows set itself by default.

Freak
03-23-2003, 04:45 PM
Why we are talking Memory......

How the hell does one change the size of LW's Render Memory?
I have wondered this for ages, but nobody seems to know!

Mine is currently set to 17.2Mb (Can i increase it manually?)
But i have seen different settings before.

I might search my configs, but any ideas welcome?
This has annoyed me for well over a year!

Lynx3d
03-23-2003, 06:44 PM
Do you mean the segment memory limit? It's in the camera properties...
I set it to 256MB :D
Yea that's probably a bit large, also with 1GB RAM, but i don't render very complex scenes at very high resolutoins anyway..

Skonk
03-23-2003, 06:52 PM
I usually set mine to 128mb, its rare i render an image that requires more than that to render in 1 pass.

James..

Freak
03-23-2003, 08:23 PM
No i mean Render Memory:

Hit your statistics window (w) key in layout...
It will give you the complete scene specs...
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Render Memory: 17.2M
Free Memory = 1280.2M (RAM) + 2399.2M (Page File)
---------------------------------------------------------------------
But i have seen screenshots with only 14Mb...
I initially thought it was Videocard memory.

But i don't really know....
Nobody seems know...

:(

What is everybody elses listed at?
Mine is always set to 17.2M.

Lynx3d
03-23-2003, 09:28 PM
Heh oh, a new stat in LW7...i really should upgrade.

I guess that's simply the memory LW is gonna need if the image should be rendered in a single segment...(well actually seems to be roughly one third more)

If you wanna see it go up, go to camera panel and set the resolution multiplier to 400% and you get a nice 275,1MB :p

Freak
03-24-2003, 04:45 PM
Thanks for that Lynx3D...
I knew i had seen it move before...

But yes that makes sense.....

It's just a guidline as to how much memory is required to do
a single pass render...
So a guide to segment memory, if you like.....

So set your ideal resolution..... 1280x720
hit stats (w)
Render Memory = 33.1M
You can then change your segment memory limit to suit it,
without all the guess work, handy for print res type outputs.....

Thanks...