PDA

View Full Version : Flip Bones



pilkiwilky
05-10-2004, 04:51 PM
I have just rigged one side of a dinosaur and thought I heard something about LW8 having a tool that flips the bones so you dont have to do the other side manually - can anyone tell me if this is true and how it is done?


cheers

Dodgy
05-10-2004, 05:01 PM
Setup>Edit>Mirror Hierachy

pilkiwilky
05-11-2004, 07:39 AM
There is no such menu in LW8 modeler

Lightwolf
05-11-2004, 07:50 AM
...but there is in Layout.
I guess with all the new rigging tools in Layout, it currently makes more sense to rig in Layout again (well, except for weightmaps...).
Cheers,
Mike

pilkiwilky
05-11-2004, 08:05 AM
OK great - thats what I was missing, but now when I mirror them it duplicates all the bones in the spine - how do I tell it I only want to add the arms and legs, not the spine

thanks for your help

Lightwolf
05-11-2004, 08:08 AM
I have no idea actually, but you might try selecting the first bone _after_ the spine in your hierarchy. You'd probably have to to the limbs seperately....
Cheers,
Mike

pilkiwilky
05-11-2004, 08:11 AM
Man Alive!

Talk about help at the speed of light!

thanks I will try that

pilkiwilky
05-11-2004, 08:13 AM
Yep - that solved it!

What a handy little time saving tool.

Thanks Again

Lightwolf
05-11-2004, 08:16 AM
You're welcome :D
...after all, do you think I got my 1200+ posts for nuttin' ? ;)
Cheers,
Mike

pilkiwilky
05-11-2004, 08:46 AM
OK, so now my bones all look good, but they are not affecting my model when I move them - they are active but not influencing the character.

Sorry, i am new to rigging. Any ideas?